Nobody's Fool (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
121 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Wasted Millions to make this trash
miketanu-504218 November 2018
Its hardly funny. Nobodys fool just became everybody's fool for watching this.

The only spoiler I have for you is the time you'll be wasting.
30 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Train wreck from the start
Neoman19624 November 2018
Waste of the talented TH and WG.....playing horrible stereotypical characters. What is this film about? 2 sisters from different worlds trying to find middle ground? A romantic comedy? Catfishing? It's a mess.....should have gone str8 to video.....
32 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappointed
lakinlitchy3 November 2018
I have been looking forward to seeing this movie for a couple months after seeing the preview at another movie. Now I just feel like we wasted our money. All of the funny parts were shown in the trailer, and the rest was just a mess. It didn't make any sense to me. It seemed as if Tyler Perry just had a bunch of different things he wanted to put in a movie so he just threw them all together in this. I'm so upset. Tiffany Haddish seems like she is genuinely funny but in this movie she was just over the top for no legitimate reason. Whoopi Goldberg was stoned in all of her 4 appearances in the movie. And the main character honestly wasn't even interesting, just rude and judgmental. The entire movie was just a waste of my time and my money.
29 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Giant Fail
nikimaress2 November 2018
Let me preface this by saying I am a HUGE Tyler Perry fan. I adore his movies. This one was just a mess. It had its funny moments but not enough to keep my attention. The acting was terrible. It was way too long, too.
47 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing waste of money
martinapyoung11 November 2018
I generally try to support Tyler Perry movies and was looking forward to some good laughs but was very disappointed in this movie. When I walked out I wish I had gone to see the Grinch instead. There were very few moments that generated laughter. Most of those were the clips that have been used on TV for promotion. Outside of those moments it was just a blank stare at the screen. The movie felt like Tyler Perry was going over the top in trying to prove that he could write a vulgar movie. Have been spreading the word for others to save their money and not waste their time going to see this one.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie made in years.
scottjmcnamee6 November 2018
People were leaving half way through the movie. From start to finish this is a horrible movie.
19 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie ever
jadrianwalkman7 November 2018
Personally, i didn't like the movie AT ALL... It was shallow and boring.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tiffany Haddish is not funny
jarodpitmon-708485 November 2018
Finally people are realizing Tiffany Haddish is not funny. Even on the poster she is over acting with that silly looking expression.
47 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really Tyler???
hiphopphotos10 November 2018
As a Tyler Perry fan, I am not only surprised, but I'm in shock! This producer, writer and plain ol good actor really needs to take a good look at his production team. I'm not sure if they're a bunch a youngins that do not have his and their best interest in heart, but this movie gave me a splitting headache. The acting was horrific and the jokes were so played--totally buffoonery. I want my money back! The commercial looked corney, but I still gave it a try-after all it was a Tyler Perry Joint! Sadly, I don't think he worked at this film at all-the profanity did not help either-who acts/talks like that allllllll day! Whoopi was good as she is a pro-but I'm sorry she's a part of this hot mess-and as for Chris Rock-Really-still acting like "Pooky" ;( Those who said it was good, really have no clue of entertaining cinema! And another thing-I'm really tired of "black-movies" having the same ol jokes/narrative/themes and actors! Can we please cast new faces Uuuuggggh ;(
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Let's just narrow it down.
trapuniversebusiness2 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
There's already a show that's real based on this. There's no need for a movie with a fake story. I'd rather watch the real thing. This movie shouldn't exist, in this day and age if you're dating revolves around the internet, you will be catfished or scammed. It's hust how it works, why on earth would I want to revisit the feeling of talking to someone you really don't know? This is a ridiculous example of a weak movie.
30 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not funny
daughterof_ann9 November 2018
A disaster ,corny and waste of money and time of a movie!ATTENTION:Tiffany Haddish is not funny! She's trying too hard, forced,not a natural whatsoever. Please stop shoving her down our throats!
17 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Unrealistic story - Tyler Perry at his worst
brian-mcintire17 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was supposed to be about a successful, but confused black woman's journey as she discovers that her relentless pursuit for what she always though a "perfect" man should be has made it impossible for her to find happiness.

In steps a rare but imperfect man named Frank (portrayed by Omari Hardwick) with wonderful qualities, Frank has made mistakes and he has learned from them. He's a caring and loving person who works hard to help others who have struggled in similar ways. .

Danica, played by Tika Sumpter, is torn between her growing attraction to Frank and the seemingly "perfect" man she has been chatting with for a year, that she has never met. We are meant to believe she is a successful ad executive. Unfortunately, all of her work scenes portray her as someone who is somewhat disconnected.

We can appreciate this and even forgive it to some extent. However, we have to wait until the very end of the movie to even see a glimpse of the hard working intelligent woman we were led to believe she was. Meanwhile, what we are left with is a woman who seemingly can't compartmentalize the pain she is going through in her personal life. We want to forgive this. We can identify with how difficult it can be to be successful at work when our personal life is a mess, but successful people do it all the time. Instead, we are left with a completely dysfunctional woman who seemingly only works when she is forced to go to a meeting.

I wanted to enjoy the story. I wanted to see her grow and become the woman she was always meant to be. Unfortunately, the journey is muddied with ridiculous way over the top acting and writing of multiple characters who are meant to bring comedy relief as our heroine compleye's her journey.

Tiffany Haddish plays Tanya, Danica's sister. She was funny at times but her over-acting often made me cringe. Whoopi Goldberg, who played their mother, was almost always high. Chris Rock was ridiculous, and Charlie, played by Mechad Brooks, was completely unbelievable as Danica's so- called "perfect man." She had been talking to him for a year! They meet once and any shred of credibility for his character or Danica's is lost. She's supposedly head over heels in love with him but there is no chemistry. Charlie is thoughtless, inattentive and ridiculous, and the sudden revelation that his penis got stabbed by a pencil is pointless. It's not funny. It's not useful in any way. After a short interaction we are left wondering how this so-called intelligent woman could have ever believed this man was even close to who she thought he was. We all make mistakes. Sometimes it takes a life to learn what's important, but not seeing who this man was would've made her completely clueless. A woman of nearly 40 years would have to have at least a small clue. It just made no sense at all.

As she continues to flip back-and-forth and disrespect Frank we are left feeling sorry for Frank. No matter how much she hurts him he keeps coming back for more. We can't help who we love but we are led to believe that Frank is a man who knows who he is and is proud of it.. A man with self esteem. It's impossible to believe a man like this would so easily forgive her deplorable behavior.

In my opinion their final reconciliation should've happened years later after a well deserved break up. This would have given credit to the strong man we are led to believe Frank is. It would have also given time for Danica to reconcile all of her thoughts and feelings and to truly discover who she is.

Ultimately the timeline is unrealistic. Danica's acting is weak but the writing and direction was ultimately what killed this movie. It's clear Tyler Perry has either lost his ability to connect with people or no longer cares. He's made over half a billion on low budget high profit films. Unfortunately, we keep rewarding him by spending our hard earned money to see his increasingly insulting and less and less funny movies.

Tyler Perry is an intelligent and very talented person who has the resources to make a truly inspiring movie that we would be as proud to watch as the actors and actresses are to play their roles. What happened to smart comedy? Why do we keep having to see black women portrayed so unrealistically?

Ask yourself, why does he keep churning out nonsensical garbage. It's lazy. Tyler Perry seems to be far more concerned with quantity than to take the time to write a realistically livable and funny movie that we know he's capable of.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I don't understand all the bad reviews
mercedi-surface2 March 2019
I had more laughs from this than any comedy I've seen in a long time. I like Tiffany Haddish and I think she carries the film. Her facial expressions alone make me laugh out loud. Go into this not expecting much and you will be entertained.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed
jstriplett3 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
To me the film had no substance. I liked how added a felons struggle etc but I felt like he was just like let me throw something out really quick for the fans. :(
21 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not recommended
chicagolake-134763 November 2018
Extremely dull story, all the weight of the movie was on Tiffany and she could not save this sinking ship from hitting the bottom at torpedo speed. Tyler perry stories are always unreal and create unnecessary drama to bring emotion to scene. This movie is not going to make it past 2 weeks running in theatre and guarantee it will be on Netflix this year. This movie couldn't decide if it wants to be funny or a serious drama. Story was jumping from one subject to another without any reason. It didn't matter where the story was going but I felt cheated and ripped off for watching something this bad. Watching Tiffany's performance in night school was the only reason that I went to see.
20 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
Redwall_Inc3 November 2018
If you saw the trailer you pretty much saw the whole movie in condensed time. Speaking of which this movie was 30 minutes to long. I'm not a prude but, I couldn't believe this was a Tyler Perry movie! It just seemed way to steamy to be one of his moves. I guess people change. I thought this would be funny cause Tiffany was in it but nope it was aweful. Save your money and watch it when it comes on tv. The Danica's character is just an awful person and Whoopi brought NOTHING to her role. Horrible movie! Watching paint dry would have had a better storyline.
17 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
HOT PILE OF ELEPHANT POOP!
camro-431542 December 2018
This is THE most unfunny movie I have ever seen. Unfortunately we sat there in complete agony for about an hour, before getting up and leaving. Tiffany Haddish is not funny. Her stand-ups suck monkey nuts, and her over the top personality is so annoying. I will never go see another movie with her in it.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun Movie!!!
db5733 March 2019
I don't know what's all the negative comments. Tiffany Haddish is hilarious. She's so crude but it's still funny. She has great timing and it's like she ad-libs a lot of her lines. The story is lame but it's just plain fun.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Died laughing!!!😂😂😂
jojomaurice91110 December 2018
Omg TIFFANY HADDISH is rediculously funny! Anyone who could literally sit there and rate this movie bad and say they didn't laugh, have no sense of humor at all or saw the wrong movie! This move is incredibly funny and I would highly recommends it to anyone! If you enjoyed girls trip, then you would love this movie as well!
15 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Haddish came thru
davidepsteiniphone7 November 2018
In comparison to Night School, Haddish clearly performs better in control of the plot. The reliance of the other characters on the actress was a brilliant grab of interest and hope. The movie did not disappoint. A realistic portrayal of the exploration and simply search for independence highlights the world we all would like to have without the care that is essential to civilization. There were more than funny parts of the movie after the movie wakes up a quarter in.
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funny movie!!
ladygaga_forreal23 November 2018
Just ignore some of the review just go and watch it!!its really funny, had a good laugh.. both ladies played their part really really good:D..will watxh its again
11 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
FUNNIEST TYLER PERRY MOVIE EVER
dvellyvell2 November 2018
This movie was HILARIOUS!!!!! Laugh out loud, fall on the floor funny! I really think Tyler should stay in the Rated R lane. This is where he belongs. WHOOPIE GOLDBERG was even HILARIOUS! The Trailer Park scene was an unexpected treat as well. Also, don't forget to stay for the outtakes!
31 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great laughs
danikahayes9 November 2018
Great laughs and great twist on movie!! Don't take kids to see it tho
14 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Total garbage!
pickettranch18 February 2019
Honestly, I think this was the worst movie I ever saw! I didn't see the humor in the constant vulgar language, nothing other than sexual refrences! Just so trashy! There wasn't anything in the movie other than a bunch of trashy words and acting! I walked out! I couldn't take it any more. Very bad acting and just overall TERRIBLE! Don't waste your money. The producers wasn't theirs making this!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Painful to watch.
the_way_i_am15 February 2019
Too long. Disjointed story. Horrible characters. Please don't bother to watch this movie.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed