Nobody's Fool (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
56 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
Giant Fail
nikimaress2 November 2018
Let me preface this by saying I am a HUGE Tyler Perry fan. I adore his movies. This one was just a mess. It had its funny moments but not enough to keep my attention. The acting was terrible. It was way too long, too.
27 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Train wreck from the start
Neoman19624 November 2018
Waste of the talented TH and WG.....playing horrible stereotypical characters. What is this film about? 2 sisters from different worlds trying to find middle ground? A romantic comedy? Catfishing? It's a mess.....should have gone str8 to video.....
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Let's just narrow it down.
trapuniversebusiness2 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
There's already a show that's real based on this. There's no need for a movie with a fake story. I'd rather watch the real thing. This movie shouldn't exist, in this day and age if you're dating revolves around the internet, you will be catfished or scammed. It's hust how it works, why on earth would I want to revisit the feeling of talking to someone you really don't know? This is a ridiculous example of a weak movie.
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Disappointed
lakinlitchy3 November 2018
I have been looking forward to seeing this movie for a couple months after seeing the preview at another movie. Now I just feel like we wasted our money. All of the funny parts were shown in the trailer, and the rest was just a mess. It didn't make any sense to me. It seemed as if Tyler Perry just had a bunch of different things he wanted to put in a movie so he just threw them all together in this. I'm so upset. Tiffany Haddish seems like she is genuinely funny but in this movie she was just over the top for no legitimate reason. Whoopi Goldberg was stoned in all of her 4 appearances in the movie. And the main character honestly wasn't even interesting, just rude and judgmental. The entire movie was just a waste of my time and my money.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tiffany Haddish is not funny
jarodpitmon-708485 November 2018
Finally people are realizing Tiffany Haddish is not funny. Even on the poster she is over acting with that silly looking expression.
22 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Really Tyler???
hiphopphotos10 November 2018
As a Tyler Perry fan, I am not only surprised, but I'm in shock! This producer, writer and plain ol good actor really needs to take a good look at his production team. I'm not sure if they're a bunch a youngins that do not have his and their best interest in heart, but this movie gave me a splitting headache. The acting was horrific and the jokes were so played--totally buffoonery. I want my money back! The commercial looked corney, but I still gave it a try-after all it was a Tyler Perry Joint! Sadly, I don't think he worked at this film at all-the profanity did not help either-who acts/talks like that allllllll day! Whoopi was good as she is a pro-but I'm sorry she's a part of this hot mess-and as for Chris Rock-Really-still acting like "Pooky" ;( Those who said it was good, really have no clue of entertaining cinema! And another thing-I'm really tired of "black-movies" having the same ol jokes/narrative/themes and actors! Can we please cast new faces Uuuuggggh ;(
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed
jstriplett3 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
To me the film had no substance. I liked how added a felons struggle etc but I felt like he was just like let me throw something out really quick for the fans. :(
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not recommended
chicagolake-134763 November 2018
Extremely dull story, all the weight of the movie was on Tiffany and she could not save this sinking ship from hitting the bottom at torpedo speed. Tyler perry stories are always unreal and create unnecessary drama to bring emotion to scene. This movie is not going to make it past 2 weeks running in theatre and guarantee it will be on Netflix this year. This movie couldn't decide if it wants to be funny or a serious drama. Story was jumping from one subject to another without any reason. It didn't matter where the story was going but I felt cheated and ripped off for watching something this bad. Watching Tiffany's performance in night school was the only reason that I went to see.
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing waste of money
martinapyoung11 November 2018
I generally try to support Tyler Perry movies and was looking forward to some good laughs but was very disappointed in this movie. When I walked out I wish I had gone to see the Grinch instead. There were very few moments that generated laughter. Most of those were the clips that have been used on TV for promotion. Outside of those moments it was just a blank stare at the screen. The movie felt like Tyler Perry was going over the top in trying to prove that he could write a vulgar movie. Have been spreading the word for others to save their money and not waste their time going to see this one.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
Redwall_Inc3 November 2018
If you saw the trailer you pretty much saw the whole movie in condensed time. Speaking of which this movie was 30 minutes to long. I'm not a prude but, I couldn't believe this was a Tyler Perry movie! It just seemed way to steamy to be one of his moves. I guess people change. I thought this would be funny cause Tiffany was in it but nope it was aweful. Save your money and watch it when it comes on tv. The Danica's character is just an awful person and Whoopi brought NOTHING to her role. Horrible movie! Watching paint dry would have had a better storyline.
10 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie ever
jadrianwalkman7 November 2018
Personally, i didn't like the movie AT ALL... It was shallow and boring.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great laughs
danikahayes9 November 2018
Great laughs and great twist on movie!! Don't take kids to see it tho
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Wasted Millions to make this trash
miketanu-504218 November 2018
Its hardly funny. Nobodys fool just became everybody's fool for watching this.

The only spoiler I have for you is the time you'll be wasting.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
FUNNIEST TYLER PERRY MOVIE EVER
dvellyvell2 November 2018
This movie was HILARIOUS!!!!! Laugh out loud, fall on the floor funny! I really think Tyler should stay in the Rated R lane. This is where he belongs. WHOOPIE GOLDBERG was even HILARIOUS! The Trailer Park scene was an unexpected treat as well. Also, don't forget to stay for the outtakes!
19 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
No Fooling Around With This Review
rgkarim3 November 2018
Tiffany Haddish has gotten a major career surge since her time back in Girl's Trip. Her wild, loud, and aggressive personality has brought laughs on a variety of stages and it looks like there is no end in sight for the young woman's success given the number of things she has produced. And this weekend, the young woman tries again in a comedy that hopefully will bring some more magic to the mix. Robbie K with another review in the works, hoping to help guide your decision making process for the films. Let's get started as my focus today is on:

Movie: Nobody's Fool (2018)

Director: Tyler Perry Writer: Tyler Perry Stars: Tiffany Haddish, Courtney Henggeler, Missi Pyle

LIKES:

Tiffany Haddish The star character needs to be mentioned, for Haddish is back in full swing with little to no filter. For most of this, I enjoyed her antics, her shouting bringing some solid dialog to life as she acts out every vengeful, hateful thought you've felt for someone who betrays you. It comes natural to her, and her energy runs through much of the movie keeping you not only into the movie, but awake as you laugh yourself silly enough to cry tears. The simplistic fun will be the bait for this movie and the heart of the entertainment.

Fast Pace: Given some of my dislikes to the movie, the pace of the movie helps curb those the factors by getting through the movie as fast as possible. Yes, you won't have to worry about prolonged, drawn out character development, or story design because this movie is all about the entertainment value and shoving it in your face. While normally rapid fire doesn't work for me, but this time, getting through the movie faster was a good thing.

Breaks From the Comedy: It's important to find some device to slow down and allow things to reset. Many don't like to do this, choosing to maximize the laughs to the point of making you either want to vomit, or laughing too hard your sides split. Surprisingly, Nobody's Fool utilizes the technique to allow a reprieve from the in your face comedy, giving the story some growing room to flourish and proceed, and build up for more future laughs. This kept me laughing through much of the movie, and for the most part at least brought some small balance to this extreme film.

The Lessons: Nobody's Fool is certainly about the laughs and drama, but the movie surprisingly has a crown jewel embedded in the raunchy mines of sex appeal and crude humor. The moral building, life lesson is a strong one, and the scene is very well-designed to bring the emotional heat with it. It utilizes all the techniques to bring it to full swing, it's just too bad that moment was then lost in more comedic craziness. Still kudos for trying.

Boyz II Men Song: Okay, small deterrent, but when a movie can use a song well and sort of revive the nostalgia you get bonus points with me. Nobody's Fool hits one of the best songs from the R&B group and while a little cheesy, utilizes it as a device to help the story and maximize the emotion. This might have been my favorite scene of the bunch, mostly because I like the song.

DISLIKES:

Filter Removed: Filters are tricky, but upon removal they can lead to the balance shifting way too much towards the aggressive, crude, and uncreative writing that many shows seem to go with. Nobody's Fool falls into this category, and while Haddish's delivery is top notch, I get tired of the over use of certain words. Probably won't bother many, but to this reviewer the stale writing is a little too much.

The Story: Linear, predictable, and quite boring, Nobody's Fool's story is like a Tyler Perry Drama trying to be funny without Madea. Rather than strong, character guided drama that leaves both main character and audience a little stronger and better. In this film though, the drama is mostly just excitement and gossip starting, trashy, sex driven antics that don't add much to the story. The silver lining of this, it adds fodder for Haddish and Whoopi Goldberg to bring some fantastic comedy work.

Danica: When you have a main character you expect mistakes and flaws at the beginning, but by the end can give them more respect. Not the case with this movie. Danica is not a character I jumped on board with, awful core characteristics, strong flaws, grandiose dialog, and a lack of intelligence that is surprisingly present. While there is some tapering, development and growth of Danica was rather shallow and quite honestly disappointing to see. Danica was not my cup of tea and I strongly wanted classic Tyler Perry to come back in and work his drama story magic.

Editing/Rush: Movies these days seems to have difficulty finding the art of knowing when enough is enough, and this movie continues to prove the theory. While still short enough, nobody's fool's editing is rather spotty at times, with extra scenes sort of piece into the film in an odd, awkward attempt to bridge to the next sequence. Some of these scenes were semi worth the inclusion, but many I felt were needless exclusion meant to be included on the deleted scenes section of the movie, including the final scene. Sorry if they are some of your favorite moments (which weren't ruined by the trailer), but editing needed to let these moments go.

The VERDICT:

Nobody's Fool is the predictable, fun, laugh riot that you are expecting when it comes to the trailer and the actress. And while it is funny at part, the movie's main thing is a lack of balance between drama and comedy. This film is designed to just be the aggressive, in your face smack fest that Haddish's energy is and if that's what you want, you've got to check this film out. Yet, if you are looking for a little more story, character development, and drama that is a little higher than a high school relationship gone wrong, this film is not meant for the theater visit.

Overall my scores are:

Comedy/Drama: 6.5-7.0 Movie Overall: 4.5-5.0
6 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie made in years.
scottjmcnamee6 November 2018
People were leaving half way through the movie. From start to finish this is a horrible movie.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Should've premiered at Redbox
foggybottom44474 November 2018
I bought a ticket for another movie, but because of an unforeseen issue with a projector, I ended up sitting through this pile of hot garbage. This movie was just terrible and not funny at all. The best thing to come out of all this was I didn't have to pay to see it. The theater manager was kind enough to let me view the movie I originally paid to see. Do yourself a favor, save your money and go see anything but this crap.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Haddish came thru
davidepsteiniphone7 November 2018
In comparison to Night School, Haddish clearly performs better in control of the plot. The reliance of the other characters on the actress was a brilliant grab of interest and hope. The movie did not disappoint. A realistic portrayal of the exploration and simply search for independence highlights the world we all would like to have without the care that is essential to civilization. There were more than funny parts of the movie after the movie wakes up a quarter in.
4 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Writers Block!
rankinsb11 November 2018
When Tyler Perry write something that he thinks work in one movie,he continues to bring it to the next. I think he should give up movies and return to his plays. 👎
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funny and so real
cniknik18 November 2018
I don't know why people are so down on the reviews. It is not all funny haha. It is mostly a love story with some ghetto funniest in it. My opinion watch the movie and let it go
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A bad light for comedy
Otuoacheampong972 November 2018
As a critic apprentice, my review for nobody's fool is along these lines 'casting' and 'production design' Nobody's fool had a great screenplay which is obvious from the fact that, it is a Tyler Perry written motion. Great acting by Omar alongside Tiffany. Going for the jagular, casting was pathetic as far as the genre is concerned. Am seeing a light-hearted comedy in theaters this weekend. The movie also has a lot of question marks on production, a prejudice of overall performance.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
straight to DVD, a rare mis-step for Perry
iamjamalwhite2 November 2018
I love me some tyler perry but not Whoopi. she is a nasty woman who isn't funny. GHOST was the last movie she made that made me smile. this had a few laughs from Omar and Tiffany but not enough to save the night. skip this
8 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not funny
daughterof_ann9 November 2018
A disaster ,corny and waste of money and time of a movie!ATTENTION:Tiffany Haddish is not funny! She's trying to hard, forced,not a natural whatsoever. Please stop shoving her down our throats!
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So many emotions...
Zoieralg1 November 2018
I thoroughly enjoyed this movie. Had my fair share of laughs, but also caught myself reflecting on life. LOVE Tiffany Haddish!
12 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hit & Miss
stevendbeard5 November 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I saw "Nobody's Fool", starring Tiffany Haddish-Nightschool, Meet the Spartans; Tika Sumpter-The Old Man & the Gun, the Ride Along movies; Omari Hardwick-Power_tv, Kick_Ass and Whoopi Goldberg-Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles_2014, Madea Goes to Jail. This is a romantic comedy that was written & directed by Tyler Perry. It's kind of a hit & miss in the funny department, as well as the romantic side. Tiffany & Tika are sisters. Tiffany is just getting out of jail and needs a place to stay. Whoopi, their mother, does not want Tiffany to stay with her-she can't trust her not to steal anything she can get her hands on-so Tika has to help her with a place to sleep. Omari plays a coffee shop owner that likes Tika but Tika has a boyfriend already-or does she? He does give Tiffany a job in his shop, just so that he can get closer to Tika. The romantic angle comes from whether Tika should be with her boyfriend-whom she has never met in person, only on line. Can anyone say 'Catfished'?-that seems to be a perfect match for her or should she go with door number 2, Omari, who has flaws but really does love her? The funny moments are mostly due to Tiffany and her outlandish behavior. There is a cameo from a recognizable comedian but it is more dumb than funny. It's rated "R" for language, drug material and sexual content and has a running time of 1 hour & 50 minutes. It's not one that I would buy on DVD. If you are a fan of Tiffany, it would be alright as a rental.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed