Night School (2018) Poster

(2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
127 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Same thing Kevin Hart has been doing for many years now
kxyang27 September 2018
Kevin Hart is a very talented and hardworking guy. He deserves all the success that he has in his life. He is a cool guy and looks like someone you can hangout with and have a good time with. I want to get that out of the way.

This movie, I think is not great. Kevin Hart is taking advantage of his status right now by being in as many movies as possible, making as much cash as possible, and hopefully do it as long as he can. This is just another typical Kevin Hart movie (think Ride Along 2). There is just not a lot of new things that Kevin Hart does in this. He continues to make small jokes (something he has been doing for over a decade now), make these goofy and silly expressions, and follow a particular story path. It is not really funny, and the jokes go on and on to the point you feel kinda bad for the actors. It makes you cringe.

This is about a man who has been living a lie, and he decides that he is finally going to get the education that he never got. He goes to night school, at first he doesn't take it serious but the teacher there tries her best to encourage him to work hard, "comedy" ensures, and everything ends happy.

Once again I do like Kevin Hart. Some of his standup is really funny. It is just that he has been doing the exact same thing for years now and I think if he continues, he will eventually end up like Eddie Murphy, where people seem to forget that he was a great comedian at some point in his life because they have such a bad taste from his crappy movies. I hope Kevin can make as much money as he can man, because if he makes 2 or 3 more of these same films, it might eventually backfire on him and he may end up losing fans.

This movie is really not funny, but if you are a big fan of Kevin Hart and love his same usual facial expressions that he has been doing in all of his movies, you will like this and probably the next 2 or 3 of these movies that we know will be happening. If you are looking for Kevin Hart to change and improve, well this isn't the movie for you.

Imagine if Jim Carrey never did Truman Show or Eternal Sunshine and just continued doing what he did in Liar Liar, he would have disappeared quick. Jim showed us that he can do more than just the same funny faces and sound. He showed us that he was capable of doing something great. You need to show range.

I know the concept "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" is probably what Kevin Hart is doing with his recent movies, but there is a point that it will break. When that happens it will be very difficult to fix it. Eddie Murphy's career never really recovered from Pluto Nash and Norbit. Mike Myers committed career suicide with Love Guru. Kevin Hart is talented but he really needs to start doing something new every once in a while. We are at a point where we can actually create a list of bad Kevin Hart films. He has made that many films now.

Nothing against Kevin but this is not a good nor funny movie.

2/10
66 out of 83 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Atrocious
danifduque30 September 2018
I have never walked out of the cinema in during a movie. Night School is the first time. Going into this movie, I was expecting something somewhat OK, going off the trailers and other similar films that Kevin Hart has been in, e.g. Central Intelligence, Ride Along, etc. however, this film is nothing but an insult to cinema and comedy. The acting is tragic, the music is monotonous and it feels like they didn't even bother with the plot. Kevin Hart has great potential, but this is by far his worst performance in a long time, which is really disappointing to see from a comedian with such promise. Overall, if I could rate this a zero, I would.
41 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
I didn't laugh once. But I did cringe a lot...
Loving_Silence28 September 2018
One of the most dumbest comedies I've seen in a while. Literally nothing made me laugh. Tiffany Haddish and Kevin Hart are just doing their tired shticks. The story in this is completely laughable and cliched. I've seen this story done 100 times and way better told. All of the jokes in this movie do not land, I just cringed half the time and sighed the rest. Please don't go waste your money on this lazy, dumb and completely unfunny garbage of a movie.
55 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Still waiting on something to happen
xtraisalwaysbetter29 September 2018
Tiffanys acting was not great and we are beyond these levels of films. Not really funny and contents was predictable.
33 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
It had it's moments, but an overall disappointing movie. Cliche and kind of lot of cringe
jjmathew-8670129 September 2018
No Spoliers! I had read reviews about it but I wanted to give it a chance. It started off well but quickly turned into a typiyal cliche movie. There were some very funny moments, but also a lot of moments where jokes never landed. Those moments felt very awkard, as the jokes came up off with cringe. Kevin Hart was good but there was not a lot around him. His supporting cast couldnt be more cliche, as they fill the spots of the generic team. The actors are talented actors, but the writing is very poor. It had some sexual moments, and language but nothing too crazy. The plot is that one that we have seen before, and its okay. Overall, the comdey which should be the highlight, left me wanting more. This movie might be worth to watch when it gets to Netflix, Hulu, etc but I dont think its worth the money in theaters.
13 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
An uninspiring snooze fest
abaddonalpha18 October 2018
A formulaic, cookie cutter of a high school comedy that falls flat with predictable plot and very little chemistry between stars Hart and Haddish. Go watch Billy Madison.

The only part I found mildly entertaining was when Teacher of the Year material Haddish cracks open some champagne to celebrate with her students which happen to include an underage girl who was kicked out of high school for drug abuse.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Hart and Haddish manage to make a funny movie out of mediocre material
Jared_Andrews28 September 2018
Night School, a comedy starring Kevin Hart and Tiffany Haddish, delivers exactly you would expect from a comedy starring Kevin Hart and Tiffany Haddish. It peppers in plenty of jokes, some hit while others miss so badly that they can hardly be recognized as attempts at humor. There's such an eclectic mix of silly, sweet and ridiculous that's the result of six writer patching together the script. It easily could have been a disaster if not for the talented ensemble of on-screen talent.

Girls Trip director Malcolm D. Lee once again displays his aptitude for letting Haddish showcase her personality. She is equally a force when imposing her gruff edge and when showing her softer side as a no-nonsense teacher who leads the night school class for those prepping for the GED. That's where she meets Hart's character, Teddy, a serial hustler in life who lost his sales job and now must pass the GED to begin a new job in finance and impress his successful fiancé. Everyone in the night school class has their own reason for being there, but I question the logic of it all in 2018 because their desired career opportunities would be more likely to require a college education than only high school.

Nevertheless, Hart's classmates include a mom who got pregnant in high school (Mary Lynn Rajskub), a oddball conspiracy theorist (Romany Malco, who is hilarious in his limited role), and large man who is an even larger doofus (Rob Riggle), to name a few. Give Riggle credit for his commitment. He consistently pours his heart into every line with the sincerest of effort, even the ones he must have known had no chance at eliciting even a chuckle. Some of the other performers have more to work with but each achieves maximum laughs from the mediocre material.

The jokes mostly come from the most obvious places, which comes across as lazy writing. There's about three too many sight gags, one of which is admittedly hilarious despite being disgusting to point that it's impossible not to look away. The other physical humor ploys, including over-the-top comic violence, grow tired quickly.

The script hits the pause button on jokes, it unveils a heart beneath it all. These tender moments aren't exactly masterful, more like gooey to the point just shy of eye-roll worthy. But them credit for trying. All considered, this movie earns a passing score that could have been better if the filmmakers had just put in a little more work.
32 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
I wanted to walk out, but I didn't want to obscure everyones view.
tjsingh-467272 October 2018
I wanted to walk out mid-way through the movie but I did not want to get in the way of people as the exit was across the theatre..If the exit was closer I would have. This movie should go straight to Netflix or DVD (non blue-ray).
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Take it easy .. it's really fun
peterskaldas29 September 2018
People try not to be over analytical it's just funny movie that succeeded to help ppl to laugh alot .. so chill and watcy it
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
You failed.
MikeC1930 September 2018
It may seem odd, but I was actually looking forward to this movie. They had been promoting it for months upon months, and I thought, "This might actually be pretty funny." Well, I only found it to be *moderately* funny. Kevin Hart does what he normally does, Tiffany Haddish does what she normally does, and character actors like Rob Riggle and Mary Lynn Rajskub show up and do some schtick that's amusing, at most. The best scenes were in the trailer, they try to squeeze just the tiniest bit of drama from learning disabilities, and the film editing is surprisingly poor. I even noticed a scene where you could tell it was dubbed over. What more can I say? I just expected more from this film.
21 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Everything it needs to be
dalindcy28 October 2018
This is a cute comedy. It definitely has its flaws - predictability, awkward dialogue and relationships that never get explored although they're hinted at - but the message is good and characters make you laugh. Tiffany Haddish is a great addition to the movie and a joy to watch.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
A few laughs, but hollow...
aburgan29 September 2018
I was hoping for something polished and well done, like "Girls Trip", but this isn't even close. Good for a few laughs, but lacks depth and quality.
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Only Kevin Hart movie worst than this is Soul Plane. Kevin has sold out.
kxyang30 September 2018
Kevin Hart is a very talented and hardworking guy. He deserves all the success that he has in his life. He is a cool guy and looks like someone you can hangout with and have a good time with. I want to get that out of the way.

This movie, I think is not great. Kevin Hart is taking advantage of his status right now by being in as many movies as possible, making as much cash as possible, and hopefully do it as long as he can. This is just another typical Kevin Hart movie (think Ride Along 2). There is just not a lot of new things that Kevin Hart does in this. He continues to make small jokes (something he has been doing for over a decade now), make these goofy and silly expressions, and follow a particular story path. It is not really funny, and the jokes go on and on to the point you feel kinda bad for the actors. It makes you cringe.

This is about a man who has been living a lie, and he decides that he is finally going to get the education that he never got. He goes to night school, at first he doesn't take it serious but the teacher there tries her best to encourage him to work hard, "comedy" ensures, and everything ends happy.

Once again I do like Kevin Hart. Some of his standup is really funny. It is just that he has been doing the exact same thing for years now and I think if he continues, he will eventually end up like Eddie Murphy, where people seem to forget that he was a great comedian at some point in his life because they have such a bad taste from his crappy movies. I hope Kevin can make as much money as he can man, because if he makes 2 or 3 more of these same films, it might eventually backfire on him and he may end up losing fans.

This movie is really not funny, but if you are a big fan of Kevin Hart and love his same usual facial expressions that he has been doing in all of his movies, you will like this and probably the next 2 or 3 of these movies that we know will be happening. If you are looking for Kevin Hart to change and improve, well this isn't the movie for you.

Imagine if Jim Carrey never did Truman Show or Eternal Sunshine and just continued doing what he did in Liar Liar, he would have disappeared quick. Jim showed us that he can do more than just the same funny faces and sound. He showed us that he was capable of doing something great. You need to show range.

I know the concept "If it ain't broke, don't fix it" is probably what Kevin Hart is doing with his recent movies, but there is a point that it will break. When that happens it will be very difficult to fix it. Eddie Murphy's career never really recovered from Pluto Nash and Norbit. Mike Myers committed career suicide with Love Guru. Kevin Hart is talented but he really needs to start doing something new every once in a while. We are at a point where we can actually create a list of bad Kevin Hart films. He has made that many films now.

Nothing against Kevin but this is not a good nor funny movie. Watch the trailer, and if you laugh at the "baby in the car scene," then you will like this crap. If you rolled your eyes like you have some sense, skip this garbage.

10 Same thing Kevin Hart has been doing for many years now/
15 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is myy house
shammaarb-4737930 September 2018
Why is everyone reviewing this like it's The Godfather? It's Kevin Hart, Tiffany Haddish and about a man who goes back to High School to get his GED. If you were expecting "depth" then the problem starts there.

Night School got plenty of laughs in my theater, especially from the guy trying to prevent the robot uprising. "Who you looking for fam?"

Tiffany Haddish's character was flat, but her and Hart did well for the thin material they were working with.

I went for a few laughs, I got a few laughs, it's not that deep.
31 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Fail
meshborg681 October 2018
I dont know who this marketed for.Totally unfunny with annoying characters who mistake shouting for humour.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Night School - Fell asleep part way through!
brankovranjkovic11 October 2018
Slapstick comedy nonsense.

From the makers of 'Girls Trip', this is marginally better, but only just.

Stars Kevin Hart, who we see is a good fast-talking salesman at a BBQ shop, he loses his job after an accident causes the shop to burn down.

Flashbacks show he was a poor student in his childhood, now he urgently needs to go back to (night) school to complete his education in order to get a new job, we see that his class-mates are all damaged characters.

Very few laughs, no out-takes (there must have been plenty!)

The message is admirable - never give up and work hard. However, the plot was poor and the acting wooden, ultimately forgettable.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hollywood, please stop pretending that Kevin Hart is funny.
CriticalOfEverything11 October 2018
This movie isn't funny. It's cliche and unfunny on every level in the book and relies too heavily on Kevin Hart's success to actually get anywhere. If I'm being honest here, I've never found Kevin Hart funny. I always find him incredibly annoying in everything he's in. And that's this movie's main issue other than it's atrocious acting and monotonous soundtrack, it relies too much on Kevin Hart for it to be somewhat successful, it just doesn't work.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Another High School Flick
david-sarkies6 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
This is basically another one of those films that I am sitting here scratching my head wondering why I actually went and watched it. Maybe because it was a Friday night and I needed a bit of a break after spending most of the day attempting to finish an assignment (well, not quite most of the day). Anyway, a part of it does hit a chord with me though, considering that I actually went back to high school after dropping out when I was seventeen, namely to increase my job prospects. However, this seems to once again be very much an American style film, since we don't seem to have night school here in Australia, though we do have things that are similar. So, the film is about this guy who drops out of highschool and gets a job as a barbeque salesman. Now, he's actually pretty good at his job because if there is one thing that he can do and that is sell stuff, and sell lots of it. Basically he is one of those fast talkers that can basically talk his way around anything, though the problem is that he quickly finds himself out of a job. Well, that isn't the only problem because he has painted this image of himself to attract this girl, and basically lives way, way out of his means. Okay, he does have an opportunity to sell financial products, but the problem is that he needs his high school diploma. So, the film is about this group who decide to better themselves by going to highschool, and the travels that they take to get there. The thing is that this film pretty much has everything that you would expect in a typical high school film - an annoying headmaster, the prom night, and of course graduation. Oh, and they also have a class full of rather eccentric characters, though what is interesting is that the class is significantly smaller than what I would have expected from such as class. Then again, this is the United States, and maybe things are slightly different there than they are here. So yeah, this was a comedy, and the cinema seemed to find this film rather amusing. In fact it felt as if I was the only one in the cinema not laughing, but then again I have a rather particular sense of humour that doesn't seem to really gel with this type of film. In the end it was, well, rather dull and nothing all that special that I would encourage people to actually go and see, though of course if you like this style of movie, then so be it, but honestly, it isn't my style at all.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not funny at all.
mark-3788529 September 2018
I love Tiffany Haddish and Kevin Hart, but this just wasn't funny. Really poorly little written and directed. You know not to expect academy award winning acting or scriptwriting, but this was really simple. Wouldn't watch it again.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie STINKS...
hiphopfanman29 September 2018
I was hoping Friday morning to laugh for a couple of hours but to my dismay the laughs were so few that I walked out after 90 minutes. I expected this movie with Hart and Haddish to be a no-brainer piss in your pants funny. The only place I pissed was in the Mens room leaving the theater.Save your money and do NOT see this movie.This movie STINKS...🤢
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid is as stupid does
tlgodderz12 October 2018
It's been a long time since I've walked out of a movie. However, this one I did. It got to the point where I couldn't sit through even one more inane and crude prank...where the hopeful feel good message of the movie (improving ones life through returning to school) wasn't enough to compensate for humor that I'd expect from a middle school locker room. Pubic hair in the cheesecake was gross, distasteful, and stupid (done by Teddy to try get a free meal), and it didn't get much better. I love humor, but not something this incredibly dumb!
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointed
ahmed-0781711 October 2018
So disappointed the movie is so boring and not funny too
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Face Palm
terrybrown-9-81123110 October 2018
Kevin Hart can do (and has done) so much better than this. There were a few giggles in there but it mostly felt like a real struggle from start to finish. In fact, it was far to similar to the guff that Adam Sandler has reduced himself to. The characters and the acting were awful, and I mean like.. really REALLY bad. At times I literally felt embarrassed watching it.

This movie should definitely not have navigated its way into the theatres and should have been a straight to DVD job. The £3.00 basket on the end of the tills in a low end supermarket.

Don't bother.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Panders to uneducated, lowest denominator scum. Lacks intelligence and class. It feels cheap.
robertbisceglia5 October 2018
It's a lowbrow unfunny pos targeted by money hungry execs pimping out these big names towards teenagers or like I said before. Save your money, time, and brain cells.
9 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointing
lgk-658399 October 2018
I was invited to see this with friends, which made it difficult as I really wanted to leave during the movie. It wasn't funny at all. The plot was forgotten through the raw, dry 'humour'. Overall, not a good movie. Do not see it if you don't wish to waste your money.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed