Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
63 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Go see it
ewarner13028 October 2018
The early reviews weren't too good so I almost didn't take my grandsons to see it. But it was delightful. Even had enough scares to make my grandsons and me jump. Perfect Halloween movie.
15 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Show
changhock29 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Show is great for young and young at heart, funny and scary at same time. Hope to see goosebumps 3, R L Stine being rescue
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely Amazing!!!
jeterjordo11 October 2018
Well, as a goosebumps fan. I REALLY loved this movie and highly enjoyable! Great Effects and Great Cast! I recommend this movie.
47 out of 70 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it!
stellamalfoy12 October 2018
Wonderfully done! I loved all the ghouls and creatures in the film.

Pay attention to the last few minutes of the movie before the credits and you can spot a certain person making a surprise cameo!
38 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You actually did it..
BatmanFunReviews201815 October 2018
Two young friends find a magic book that brings a ventriloquist's dummy to life. Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween was so much better than critics said and even much better than i expected it to be in general. This movie once again blends perfectly horror elements and family humor for kids and their parents but also the new kids were much better that i thought they would be especially Madison Iseman and Jaremy Ray Taylor were great and that little cameo during the climax oh boy it was really good. Just an all around impressive sequel to the first one.
23 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A fun and frightful movie!
nickcarothers11 October 2018
Goosebumps 2 is a really fun movie to watch! Perfect for Halloween! I recommend you see it, even adults will like it, the film has great laughs, cast, and the monsters in this film actually look scary!
37 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
family fun!!!
bradykid-2606015 October 2018
We took our 10 year old daughter to see it. Perfect for the Halloween season.
23 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Spooky, fun and creative
rannynm11 October 2018
Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is spooky, fun and creative! It is very engaging and entertaining throughout the whole film.

The story is about a young boy, Sonny (Jeremy Ray Taylor) and his best friend, Sam (Caleel Harris) who finds a book. When they open it, a doll called Slappy comes out! The boys lose the book, but keep Slappy. The friends are very surprised and a bit scared when they discover that the doll can talk. He seems nice at the beginning. He wants to have a family. But later, the boy, his sister Sarah (Madison Iseman) and his best friend realize he is strange and don't want him to be part of their family anymore. Slappy has his own personal agenda and decides to create his own family. He makes Halloween come to life as he invades the whole town with monsters and all the creatures as allies. This is a very scary Halloween for the town of Wardenclyffe, where the story takes place, as all creatures make real chaos. Sonny, Sam and Sarah team up with neighbor Mr. Chu (Ken Jeong) to find the book that Slappy from to figure out how to stop him. They discover that the book can suck up monsters and they are determined to save the city.

The story is based on R.L Stine's books. This is where Jack Black comes in as he reprises his role from the 2015 film, playing the writer who came to help. His performance as the author is excellent. I love his voice work giving life to Slappy the Dummy.

The movie is funny and spooky in equal amounts. There is mystery and discovery all combined in the storytelling. There's kind of a homage to horror films, as we see some classic monsters. My favorite scenes are the ones with the Halloween decorations coming to life in the store and the fight with the gummy bears that become real and attack Sonny and Sam.

The effects are very well done. This story focuses on the 3 main characters and the actors did a good job carrying the film. There's a tribute to the books and literature. There's a beautiful metaphor with the blank pages in the book which is powerful. It is so interesting and kind of reminded me that reality is scarier than fantasy and there will be more stories to be written. The message of this film is, "when we face our own fears we learn how not to be scared."

Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween opens October 12, 2018 and is the perfect movie for kids this Halloween. I give it 4.5 out of 5 stars and recommended it for ages 6 to 13 and grown ups as well.

By Zoe C., KIDS FIRST! Film Critic
31 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Kid friendly scares, just like the first one.
DarkVulcan2915 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
The story itself is pretty simply, two teenage friends sneak in an old house, they both believe to be haunted, find a book and soon find a dummy named Slappy, not knowing where it came from but take it home anyway, both boys soon realize that Slappy is alive with supernatural powers, and quickly wants to wreck havoc on Halloween.







An entertaining film for the whole family, and it has kid friendly scares just like the first Goosebumps film, and the book series. Effects are great, and the young actors are also good, Jack Black returns as R.L. Stine, my problem here he serves very little purpose being in the film. Madison Iseman who's in the film, I can't help but feel she looks familiar, and when She and Jack Black are on screen together, made me remember they both where in Jumanji: Welcome to the Jungle(2017), in which Jack Black played her character trapped in the body of a man.

It ends with you wanting a third installment.
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A good family movie
bustos-8187915 October 2018
A solid film, well placed jokes, good scares for the kids, an ok story, CGI was on par for today's standards, would recommend this movie to friends and family
13 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good but not great
charliedenis28 October 2018
Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is fun and the new cast is great, but has a few cliche-type moments, a slightly odd villain direction and a desperate need for more Jack Black in the movie.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A fun and creepy sequel
tanstorck27 October 2018
Although it isn't quite as good as the first, it is still a fun, enjoyable movie to watch.

Slappy once again brings some laughs and chills. The human characters are also interesting.

The film is a great family-friendly adventure that gets you ready for Halloween.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The terror of the blank page
nogodnomasters26 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Sonny (Jeremy Ray Taylor) and Sam (Caleel Harris) do some house cleaning and come across an R.L. Stine (Jack Black) book and let loose an evil telekinetic puppet named "Slappy" (Mick Wingert) who sounds like the Creep Show host. Slappy was to bring Halloween to life which causes chaos.

This is another kid-friendly monster film with male, female, and minority characters in major roles. Jack Black had a minor role. Ken Jeong plays another eccentric character.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Autistic Reviewers Opinion Of Goosebumps: Haunted Halloween.
autisticreviewers14 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Having read very bad reviews it lowered our expectations that Haunted Halloween was going to be good. So here our review:

Slappy is summoned (this time the curse like in the books and TV series bring him back to life) and he wants to be part of the family, only under the condition that everyone does exactly what he says. Sloppy, like in the books is very controlling and he does just that in Haunted Halloween. It's very intimidating to say the least, because Slappy goes from one person to the next (usually school bullies) getting even or causing trouble. All this happens in the first act, and it's off to a magnificent start. Story starts in just around 15 mins into the movie. After things don't go according to plan Slappy decides to summon his real family, the goosebumps characters! We'll let you work the rest out from there.

The effects are worse than the first movie, and the script wasn't as clever or genius like the first movie, and a lot of the jokes fell flat. The kid characters are also not as interesting as the ones from the first one. It really did have a lot to work on, but funny thing is despite all of that it's hugely entertaining! By the way, *SPOILER ALERT* Jack Black is in this playing R. L. Stine , but it's more of a cameo role. And the Stephen King reference should make you laugh! And one more spoiler, The Haunted Mask is in it, and gets loads of screen time! But, it's entertaining, fun to watch, and something you should definitely watch on Halloween. 4/5 stars. Jay and Nick.
14 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fiendishly good family fun!
lisa_gemmell20 October 2018
My kids and I were pleasantly surprised by the first Goosebumps movie, and although this sequel is quite slow to start, it's a whole lot of fun! My kids loved seeing the Halloween decorations coming to life (especially that balloon spider and cgi seemlessly blended with practical effects) and the cinema was full of kids laughing out loud at certain parts. Fans of Jack Black's R.L Stine character may be disappointed, but Slappy being the main protagonist more than makes up for the lack of Stine. The acting is fine for purpose, no Oscar worthy performances here, but the 3 main characters (Sarah, her brother and his friend) are likeable enough. So while Goosebumps 2 is not exactly making ground-breaking cinematic history, given some of the rubbish kids movies I've seen this year ('Monster Family' anyone?!) it's certainly one of the more entertaining ones. Kids aged 10 and under will love it, 8/10.
11 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Pretty much just like its predecessor.
Anurag-Shetty31 October 2018
Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is a movie revolving around the characters from the children's horror novel series, Goosebumps by R.L. Stine. Sonny(Jeremy Ray Taylor) & Sam(Caleel Harris) discover a book, that brings a dummy named Slappy(Mick Wingert) to life.

Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is a mindless yet entertaining film. Director Ari Sandel has given us a sequel that is on par with Goosebumps(2015). The visual effects & animation are top-notch. There are many funny set pieces in the movie that children will find very enjoyable. However, most of these jokes don't really connect with the teens & the adults in the audience. This is the major flaw of the movie. Neither this film nor its predecessor can match up to R.L. Stine's creepy Goosebumps novels or the classic Goosebumps(1995-1998) TV show. Wendi McLendon-Covey is brilliant as Kathy. Madison Iseman is fantastic as Sarah. Jeremy Ray Taylor is outstanding as Sonny. Caleel Harris is spectacular as Sam. Ken Jeong is awesome as Mr. Chu. Chris Parnell is hilarious as Walter. Bryce Cass is amazing as Tyler. Peyton Wich is impressive as Tommy Madigan. Mick Wingert is the star of the show as Slappy. Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween is not a must watch. However, it's worth a watch if you liked the first movie & you're a fan of the iconic novels & TV show.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Slow start, fun for the kids
phil_doucet20 October 2018
This movie started off a little bit slow but the end product was a good one and the kids (aged 9 and 14) left excited, scared of ventriloquist dolla and ready for Halloween. Very minimal role by Jack Black in this movie but we were entertained throughout and got us in the mood for Halloween next week! Worth a Friday night.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Surprisingly good family Halloween fun
amesmonde20 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Two friends unknowingly bring Slappy the Dummy to life and the evil dummy goes about giving life to all Halloween creatures.

Based on the original promos, with a slashed production budget at first I was convinced this was to be a TV straight to DVD affair, how wrong I was. Director Ari Sandel delivers Impressive ghost and ghoul effects which are as impressive as the acting.

GooseBumps 2 may not have the scale or execution of the first but Sandel along with writers Rob Lieber and Darren Lemke offer just as much fun and it has just the same if not more PG eerie scares.

Whether it's was a marketing ploy or Jack Black wasn't going to return it was a pleasant surprise to see him return in the final film with an extended cameo. Also the real R. L. Stein also briefly appears.

The leads are likeable, Jeremy Ray Taylor as Sonny and Madison Iseman as Sarah Quinn carry the film well. Notable is Caleel Harris as Sam Carter, Sonny's best friend. Ken Jeong is humorous as the Halloween obsessed neighbor. However, Slappy is wonderfully realised and steals the show. Thankfully, with what look like for the most part as practical effects.

Overall, surprisingly good solid instalment, welcomingly setting up another outing.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"I'm talking about the psycho dummy on our couch!" A good sequel!
Foreverisacastironmess12319 October 2018
This turned out to be a bit of a nice surprise, I found it to be a step up from the first movie overall, and I thought the two lead boys were much more fitting for a Goosebumps flick than the stiff they had in the first one, they looked just like the type of kids that you'd always get on the TV series. I was never bored as such with this but I did think that after a strong and surprisingly creepy first act where they bring Slappy to life, (great to see they used the chant to bring him to life like in the book this time!) it ran out of steam a little, I enjoyed it better before it got too wacky! It was wise making Slappy pretty much the star from the get-go this time around, and he was a lot of fun, I think he was a little bit scarier than before, what he does to the mother near the end was legit mortifying, that image made me go all creepy for a second! I loved the scene where he brings the masks to life and the rest of the monster emerged from them almost like out of a cocoon, that was a very cool and creative idea, they weren't as many monsters this time though, and only one that was gigantic! I loved the little epilogue that saw Slappy kind of winning over his creator in a last minute twist that was worthy of one of the many eye-rolling out of leftfield gotcha endings from the books! It was that unexpectedly dark little twist after the saccharine ending that made me decide I liked the movie. The movie had several scenes and moments in it though that I couldn't help but notice had some very hard to ignore similarities to ones from horror classics, and they were just a bit too obvious for them to be considered sly "loving homages", such as Slappy reading out the life-giving chant over and over while thunder crashed, which really felt a bit too Chucky summoning up mighty Damballa! And when they used the book to suck the monsters back into imagination oblivion, it felt just like a different version of the Ghostbusters trap thingy to me, and in the genuinely fun and impressive sequence where the gummy bear sweets come to life and turn nasty, the moment when they were throwing plates at the kids made me instantly think of the famous kitchen scene from Gremlins, why put that in? It wasn't anything too distracting though and I was willing to go along with it because movie, but it borrows pretty heavily at certain points. They should've made a Goosebumps movie years ago when their popularity was at its peak, or at least adapted just one story instead of haphazardly trying to cram everything that made the books so great into one movie because the approach doesn't work too well, at least not for me! So this was just about good, it was a bit too much of a kiddie movie for me but it was cute and very enjoyable and I'm sure they did what they could with it, and as it stands it's a better effort than the first movie was in my humble. I'm not exactly the right age demographic but I think it's best enjoyed as a goofy lighthearted monsterfest and Halloween movie. Show it to your younger kids, or better yet, try to get them into those fantastic books, they're much more fun! Happy Halloween now! X
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun Family Film, But Feels More Like a TV Movie
lord-of-the-lez21 October 2018
This is a fun movie with an atmosphere that just oozes Halloween. I love the idea of Halloween decorations themselves being the monsters and there were a lot of really cool designs used for the various monsters. And I like that we see more monsters in this one than in the first one, as the first Goosebumps movie needed a lot more monster mashin' goodness.

However, it was not nearly as funny as the first Goosebumps. The plot was a bit slow and not that suspenseful or exciting. And despite Slappy being featured more in this sequel, he actually was not as creepy or menacing as he came across in the first movie.

While the first Goosebumps movie felt more like a love letter to the franchise, this movie's recipe felt more like a TV movie that tried its hardest to use the Goosebumps books as inspiration only to be just lightly Goosebumps flavored (and heavy on the Halloween candy).

Very fun, very Halloween-y, but...not that Goosebumps-y.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Fun sequel
moviegeek86-934-73084014 October 2018
The original Goosebumps movie took me by surprise when it came out in 2015. It had fun likable characters and a great villain in Slappy the evil dummy.

Fast forward 3 years and here's the sequel. 99% of the cast from the original is missing and the new characters aren't as interesting. They're serviceable but kind of forgettable. The story is also not as well paced as the original and is too fast for its own good coming in as a little too short. It needed about another 10 minutes or so in its last act.

But I can't hate it because it's still a lot of fun. Once again Slappy steals the show and there's some surprisingly creepy scenes involving him early on in the movie. The other Goosebumps monsters are fun too and the halloween setting puts a smile on my face. I also really dug the musical score by Dominic Lewis.

If you have kids I highly recommend taking them to this one. Although there might be a few scenes too scary for the younger ones it's the perfect horror movie for them to watch during the Halloween season.

Buy a ticket, some popcorn and a soda and have fun.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Decent spooky family film
jwwalrath-227-8548713 October 2018
The last film legitimately took me by surprise. It was more fun than expected. This one is more what I'd thought the first would be: Serviceable.

The entire thing is decent, but it is very standard. Jack Black's entertaining R.L. Stine is a bit part here and the interesting dynamic and obstacles of the kids from the first film is missing here. What ensues is a very by-the-numbers children's film. The actors playing the kids do a good job but they're given the most basic of characterizations and conflicts (complete with predictable school bullies). Wendi McLendon-Covey, Chris Parnell, and Ken Jeong all have fun supporting roles, but they're not big parts.

Monsters are fun. They are even a couple scenes with Slappy that are a little scarier than expected.

Kids should like this. At worst, parents will probably be indifferent. The movie is okay it just doesn't stand out.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Not as Many Goosebumps In This installment, but Fun Nevertheless
rgkarim12 October 2018
The book series that got me hooked to reading many years ago has tried to keep its relevance as up-to-date as possible. With the first installment doing pretty well, it's no surprise that they made a second film and yours truly is ready to dive in and figure out what lies in the latest book of R.L. Stine. Can this family friendly horror keep things spooky enough to warrant a theater visit? Robbie K here with a review on the latest silver screen sensation:

Movie: Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween (2018)

Director: Ari Sandel Writers: Rob Lieber (screenplay by), Rob Lieber (story by) Stars: Wendi McLendon-Covey, Jack Black, Madison Iseman

LIKES:

Family Friendly: The Goosebumps books have been a solid intro into the world of horror that brings kids into the fold of literature. This movie sticks to those guns and adds that kid friendly element to warrant a try for a family outing. Is it dark? Yes, but the studio managed to dilute the darkness to be manageable (for the most part) that kids should have a laugh at it. Case in point a three-year-old did very well in my viewing.

Good Pace: Short and to the point, this movie was a quick, fun adventure that did little to slow the antics down. From the get go, you'll be immersed into the adventure at hand, as what can be describes Stranger Things, meets a Disney vibe and is executed well. The fact that time seems to fly by is a good sign that this will be fun for most. Plus, 90 minutes is a good target goal in my opinion.

Creature Design: While certainly not as epic as Stine's descriptions in his book, the crew in the movie studio have done some decent research. The new creatures that inhabit the screen have got some flare to them, and while not the most realistic, at least have that same Stine vibe to them to still be easy for the little ones to handle.

The Use of Slappy: Slappy in the last film was not as utilized as I expected, reserved for a few jokes and that was it. The sequel though really brought him out in spades, using him to establish a bit ,ore of the horror element, while also grounding the story down. Slappy was much more himself in this installment, his malicious side mixed with his deceitful antics bringing back memories of the horror that was Slappy in his books. A solid antagonist to support the story, I enjoyed this character much more.

DISLIKES: Under Utilization of Characters: The kids get center stage and do well, but the older cast members not as involved as I was hoping. Wendi McLendon-Covey and Ken Jeong were reduced to a few short sequences, still bringing their tricks to trade, but not getting involved in the story like I had hoped. As for Jack Black, he's there, but not much more I can say . They really diluted "Stine's" part in this film and left me a little bummed with my Haunted Halloween treat.

Not as Much Nostalgia: Part of the fun of the last movie was all the references to the books and trying to find the cameos in their involvement. Sadly, this film short sheeted us in this factor. Yes, there are a few nods, but Haunted Halloween is trying to go a little more original than its predecessor. Nothing wrong with that, it's just I missed the find your childhood reference component from the first film.

More Creature involvement: Design might be good, but Haunted Halloween 2 didn't use their creatures to their full potential either. Many creatures get their kicks for a few seconds before being reduced to background images and occasional sound effect. Such a step down in this design, Haunted Halloween didn't have quite the spectacular impasses they wanted to bring in, and that left me feeling a little bored in terms of suspense.

Predictability/Trailer Spoilers: My friend Tim has shared wisdom of be careful what trailers you watch. These words are very applicable to this movie, as watch enough of the trailers and you have 80% of the movie. Haunted Halloween has little in terms of grand surprises, and by watching these trailers, you can skip this film in the theater.

The Story Component: It's not that the story was bad, but it was much less involved than the first installment. Very straightforward, very cliché, and very piecemeal that it feels like an unfinished manuscript. Slappy may have tied things together and made one heck of an antagonist, but their execution of his skill set was just missing something. Some of the antics, gimmicks, and threats were very lighthearted, and due to the kid atmosphere, I feel they threw some punches to not go too extreme to leave nightmares.

The Verdict:

Goosebumps 2 has some fun little quirks that will be very appropriate for the family atmosphere of the movie. With good creature design and pacing it shows some promise to being the horror movie for the young and young at heart. However, the originality factor took a little from the adventure I enjoyed in the first installment, primarily at how disjointed this movie felt in integrating all its characters and creatures. It's a step back in quality overall, and you can skip this one due to the trailers, but not the worst movie to come out overall.

My scores are:

Adventure/Comedy/Family: 7.0 Movie Overall: 5.5
13 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great film *better than i thought it would be*
waynezendo13 November 2018
I was very wary due to none of the orignal main characters was not in the film, but i was suprised that the film was so good , the story was great film was entertaining, you wont be disappointed . Enjoy
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Entertaining Horror Comedy
Pairic8 November 2018
Goosebumps 2: Haunted Halloween: The R.L. Stine Goosebumps books where the characters come to life are back. We have magic mixed with Tesla in this intriguing tale set in Wardenclyffe New York. Two young teens, Sonny (Jeremy Ray Taylor and Sam (Caleel Harris) are cleaning out an abandoned house (a previous residence of author Stine). When they move a stuffed cat a secret chamber is revealed and they find a locked book with a key. Finding a scrap of paper, Sam recites the words on it and they find a ventriloquist's dummy.

On their way home the dummy defends them against bullies. It is only later that they realise the dummy, Slappy *(voiced by Mick Wingert, puppeteer Avery Lee Jones), is alive. Next day when it finds out that Sonny's sister Sarah's (Madison Iseman) boyfriend Tyler has cheated on her it causes him to fall off a ladder. Slappy also helps Sonny with his science project, an attempt to create a working scale model of Nikola Tesla's Wardenclyffe Tower with disastrous results at school. The evil side of slappy now becomes more apparent when his scheme to bring Halloween creatures to life and conquer the world. Sonny, Sam and Sarah must trey and stop him.

While the film is mainly aimed at children/teens it would take very little to trans form it into an an adult horror film. From the outset Slappy is quiet sinister and his his manic laugh is disturbing rather than endearing. Some wonderful scenes: gummy bears coming to life, merging and absorbing a boy; rubber bats flying off and dive-bombing the citizens of Wardenclyffe; model witches dragging people into the sky. Best of all though is Slappy's attempt to make Tesla's Tower functional again.

An entertaining Horror/Comedy by director Ari Sandel. 8/10.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed