IMDb > "Training Day" (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Training Day" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]
Index 21 reviews in total 

25 out of 43 people found the following review useful:

Poor is a description for this series that does not even come close to what i really think.

1/10
Author: Rob Macleod from United Kingdom
4 February 2017

Hammy and full of awful one liners. I initially thought it was a comedy.

Although you are initially pushed into the deep end at the start of the 1st episode, somehow you just know what scene is coming up next and exactly how the characters are going to interact. Training day pretends to be gritting and hard hitting but its as authentic as the 80's series A team but without the slapstick humour.

Poorly written, poorly edited and I feel poor as I lost 30 minutes of my life watching it. OK, so the acting and direction was not bad however, if you are going to attempt to make a spin off of the cult classic then at least spent more than a day writing the series.

Was the above review useful to you?

28 out of 49 people found the following review useful:

I can't even imagine how this could be any worse

1/10
Author: Leftbanker from Spain
3 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was horrible and unwatchable right out of the starting gate. They open with what is supposed to be a high octane action sequence. A guy is blowing holes in the front door and the two cops are hiding safely behind one quarter inch of dry wall. Then it gets really stupid.

It's full of a lot of tired actors that should be let out of Hollywood to find new careers so that some new actors can have a chance except perhaps the producers of this bomb are too stupid to discover their own talent. Gratuitous gun play and violence isn't the same thing as action. My only hope was that this was written by some thirds graders for a school project on cop movie clichés.

If you can make it to the end of this first, miserable episode you are a better man or woman than I.

Was the above review useful to you?

6 out of 9 people found the following review useful:

Best new series in years!!

10/10
Author: bidplayer
19 February 2017

Just wanted to add how much I love this show. Top of the line actors, characters,and writing. I have thoroughly enjoyed every episode. Bill Paxton is one of my favorite actors and it's what drew me to watch. But I am impressed with all the fine actors I've seen in this show. I would hate to see it cancelled by CBS. CBS don't let this one go!

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 2 people found the following review useful:

Completely Different Dynamic From The Film...

6/10
Author: MovieHoliks
20 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

I just started watching this new CBS series; seen like the first 3 eps or so -- of course, based on the 2001 film of the same name by Antoine Fuqua, who I had read at Wikipedia would be directing the pilot. For some reason, they brought in Brit director, Danny Cannon ("Judge Dredd" [1995], TV's "Gotham", etc..) to direct instead.

This show is set in the same universe as the movie, 15 years later in the aftermath of the city being left in shambles after most of Lorenzo Harris (Denzel Washington's character)'s cases have been over-turned, and the city is over-ridden with crime. When you try to do a TV series with the same dynamic as the movie in a case like this (assuming you've seen the film by now), it's nearly impossible, and they have indeed changed things up.

The main similarity is that rookie young cop is brought in -- instead of Ethan Hawke from the film, it's actor Justin Cornwell, who I see at Wikipedia hasn't really been in a whole lot yet (TV's "Empire" and a few other things). This character is brought in to observe a veteran cop (played by veteran actor, Bill Paxton) who is suspected of doing some off-the-radar things on the job. Paxton is really good in this role; one of the best I've seen him in, but again, he's no Lorenzo; it would be very difficult to do what they're trying to do with this show, and have the same setup as the movie.

In the movie, Lorenzo was a completely all-around un-redeemable, despicable character LOL. Here, he is not only redeemable, but he's likable, and to an extent, trustworthy! Well, putting the '01 film aside -- I am a fan of that movie; I give this show a thumbs-up so far. I like the chemistry between the 2 leads, and Paxton like I said is especially good.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

A great T.V. series with a great story line

10/10
Author: presluc from United States
26 February 2017

With the passing a a great actor "Bill Paxton" what is this series going to do now?

I must say I was disappointed in not seeing any condolences or heart felt message from the series about the last show Bill Paxton worked on. Perhaps I looked in the wrong places. However Training Day is a good series I hope the producers, writers and others can salvage it. I would suggest a story line where Bill Paxton's character gets killed and is replaced by another fast paced actor. Although Bill Paxton's acting maybe copied it will never be duplicated That's some big shoes to fill.

Was the above review useful to you?

4 out of 7 people found the following review useful:

Deeper than you think

8/10
Author: bigref from United States
19 February 2017

I have read some less than stellar reviews of this show but I watched the first three episodes nonetheless. The reviewers are correct in that the show does not pass up very many cop show clichés. LA setting, bad white guy black good guy, bad Russians, bad former military, nasty black woman in charge, smarmy lawyer, killer hot women, cop drives classic Detroit iron and on and on. You get the idea.

All that said, I will always give Jerry Bruckheimer produced shows a shot. He invented a genre with CSI and Top Gun remains little Tom Chruis' best movie. This one is beginning to grow on me.

Was the above review useful to you?

8 out of 15 people found the following review useful:

Feels rushed.

3/10
Author: spress97 from Hamilton, Scotland
7 February 2017

I like the concept of a TV show based on this movie but it seem to rush action down our throat at every chance the characters are bland and hard to identify with.

Since I have only seen one episode I'll give it a run and see if the story promises the hype.

The main characters are good enough but forced together without a proper back story.

I'll give it a 3 out of ten due to the good casting and potential for a Blue Blood grittiness in the future.

AP.

Was the above review useful to you?

12 out of 23 people found the following review useful:

Keep watching

7/10
Author: Ryan M from California
6 February 2017

Regardless of the other reviews, I found this TV show entertaining and just dark enough to make me want to watch more. I like the fantasy that the police are out there kicking ass and bending the rules against a group of people (gangstas) that don't play by the rules themselves. If you liked the movie and enjoy cop shows I think you'll like this one too. Time will tell. I believe there is plenty of room for more supporting actors and I like the theme of the younger officer. Great twist at the end. I like Bill Paxton's work in this episode and I hope he continues to develop his character more. Game over man. We're all gonna die!

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 29 people found the following review useful:

Maybe the worst thing on TV ever

1/10
Author: angelo_padula from United States
4 February 2017

Tortured by terrorists..... scratching on a chalk board.... a baby getting her fingers caught in a car door..... all things I'd rather have happen to me than to watch this piece of junk.....

I'm not sure what is worse... the acting or the unbelievable nonsense of a pathetic story. Please do not waste your time.......

I have seen better film on teeth.

Bill Paxton, whom I happen to like is painful at times to watch. He must have lost a bet to take this role.

I wish I had to more hands to give this show 4 thumbs down.

If you want to watch a show based on a movie give lethal weapon a try. The acting, chemistry and story's are fun and the action is great all be it a little far fetched.

Was the above review useful to you?

2 out of 4 people found the following review useful:

Cliché olé!!!

5/10
Author: matthijsalexander from Netherlands
18 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After seeing two episodes I am not sure if this has potential.

The pilot is a cliché-filled mishmash that will make your eyes roll thinking 'OMG......' The script is full of holes and situations do not flow naturally, it feels very messy and inconsistent.

Actors vary greatly. Some aren't credible at all, some do a better job but the story-line, events, aren't really credible either which makes the whole thing a hard-sell.

The pilot starts with a cop jumping out of a window while holding a baby landing on top of a car, the hero! Surely, a cliché. Then we get to figure out his father was a cop and that's why.... bladibladibla.

The second episode gets slightly better but not much. I'll give episode 3 a chance but it is very likely I'll move on to something else.

Edit: Episode 3 has been seen. Once again, horrific acting combined with a horrific illogical story-line. This show is a pure waste of time, perhaps I am a bit too old for this (though I like to think 35 is relatively young). Complete disaster this series. It only establishes that Justin Cornwell cant act.

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 3:[1] [2] [3] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history