Training Day (TV Series 2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Add a Review
44 ReviewsOrdered By: Helpfulness
7/10
Keep watching
Ryan M6 February 2017
Regardless of the other reviews, I found this TV show entertaining and just dark enough to make me want to watch more. I like the fantasy that the police are out there kicking ass and bending the rules against a group of people (gangstas) that don't play by the rules themselves. If you liked the movie and enjoy cop shows I think you'll like this one too. Time will tell. I believe there is plenty of room for more supporting actors and I like the theme of the younger officer. Great twist at the end. I like Bill Paxton's work in this episode and I hope he continues to develop his character more. Game over man. We're all gonna die!
33 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
A great T.V. series with a great story line
presluc26 February 2017
With the passing a a great actor "Bill Paxton" what is this series going to do now?

I must say I was disappointed in not seeing any condolences or heart felt message from the series about the last show Bill Paxton worked on. Perhaps I looked in the wrong places. However Training Day is a good series I hope the producers, writers and others can salvage it. I would suggest a story line where Bill Paxton's character gets killed and is replaced by another fast paced actor. Although Bill Paxton's acting maybe copied it will never be duplicated That's some big shoes to fill.
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
A Good Review for a Good Show
Gentleman_Caller12 March 2017
I'll start by saying this is not a perfect show, but then how many shows are today? I will say it caught my interest initially with the casting of Bill Paxton for it's lead. I didn't jump on the show when it first aired otherwise it would've been a bit more nerve-whacking to have to follow week-to-week. However, I'm glad I finally was able to marathon the first half season.

Keep in mind, crime shows are so not my thing. The last somewhat crime show I watched was "The Following", and that was similar for the casting of Kevin Bacon in that show's lead character. I will say that show was far better than the "Training Day" series, but then who doesn't like a serial killer in TV. However, like all shows had its flaws. I love "The Walking Dead", "Orphan Black", "Bates Motel", and "American Horror Story" for just some of my favorite shows. What do those shows have in common with "Training Day"? Nothing, except that they all have their flaws. Minor flaws in comparison to this show, but flaws.

I agree with some of the criticism with "Training Day", that the plot is usually a bit muddled or rushed. The chemistry with most of the cast just isn't there at times, maybe even half of the time. Other than the character of Frank Rourke, I'm really not too interested in the other characters. However, the show is still watchable because of Bill Paxton. His role and his acting ability just brings life to everything somehow, someway. I honestly don't think anybody else would have had that star power for this show's lead role. And I really don't understand anyone just flat out hating this show. True, the show could've been closer to a 8 to 9 star show. I would have liked to have seen the more gritty look of L.A. that the movie showed, and I could have seen a much more better story-line than what the show currently is running with. But the show is still fun. Most cliché one-liners are boring or are said without hitting the right note, but then there's Bill Paxton. The guy is talented on delivery alone. I would give the show 6 stars, but Bill Paxton earns my seventh star.

As for the show now with the passing of Bill Paxton. I don't think it has much of a chance if any to go on. It was his baby in a sense. He will be missed for a very long time like most are.

I seriously don't understand how this show is only rated 5.5 stars. When every individual episode has no rating less than 6.7 stars. Maybe the bad reviewers take the time to rate the show down, and write a bad review, but not rate every individual episode? You want to watch a bad show, go watch reality TV or a game show. Watch Teen Mom 3, or The Wall, because "Training Day" is a good show.
16 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
6/10
Completely Different Dynamic From The Film...
MovieHoliks20 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I just started watching this new CBS series; seen like the first 3 eps or so -- of course, based on the 2001 film of the same name by Antoine Fuqua, who I had read at Wikipedia would be directing the pilot. For some reason, they brought in Brit director, Danny Cannon ("Judge Dredd" [1995], TV's "Gotham", etc..) to direct instead.

This show is set in the same universe as the movie, 15 years later in the aftermath of the city being left in shambles after most of Lorenzo Harris (Denzel Washington's character)'s cases have been over-turned, and the city is over-ridden with crime. When you try to do a TV series with the same dynamic as the movie in a case like this (assuming you've seen the film by now), it's nearly impossible, and they have indeed changed things up.

The main similarity is that rookie young cop is brought in -- instead of Ethan Hawke from the film, it's actor Justin Cornwell, who I see at Wikipedia hasn't really been in a whole lot yet (TV's "Empire" and a few other things). This character is brought in to observe a veteran cop (played by veteran actor, Bill Paxton) who is suspected of doing some off-the-radar things on the job. Paxton is really good in this role; one of the best I've seen him in, but again, he's no Lorenzo; it would be very difficult to do what they're trying to do with this show, and have the same setup as the movie.

In the movie, Lorenzo was a completely all-around un-redeemable, despicable character LOL. Here, he is not only redeemable, but he's likable, and to an extent, trustworthy! Well, putting the '01 film aside -- I am a fan of that movie; I give this show a thumbs-up so far. I like the chemistry between the 2 leads, and Paxton like I said is especially good.
11 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Poor is a description for this series that does not even come close to what i really think.
Rob Macleod4 February 2017
Hammy and full of awful one liners. I initially thought it was a comedy.

Although you are initially pushed into the deep end at the start of the 1st episode, somehow you just know what scene is coming up next and exactly how the characters are going to interact. Training day pretends to be gritting and hard hitting but its as authentic as the 80's series A team but without the slapstick humour.

Poorly written, poorly edited and I feel poor as I lost 30 minutes of my life watching it. OK, so the acting and direction was not bad however, if you are going to attempt to make a spin off of the cult classic then at least spent more than a day writing the series.
44 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Falls Short Of The Film
atlasmb21 February 2017
"Training Day" has a problem with tone. I liked the film, which has a gritty feel to it and an unrelenting drive to a dramatic climax. The television show, on the other hand, gives us the same two characters--the rookie and the grizzled veteran--but shifts from tone to tone. It seems to start as a serious, intense action film, then morphs into a semi-silly sequence where the veteran (Bill Paxton) takes out a house full of bad guys with a grin on his face and wise cracks at the ready(reminiscent of "Die Hard"), then a tragic occurrence, followed by a clichéd visit to a drug dealer (who has a pet baboon).

Clichés run rampant in the first episode which is further ruined by dialogue that leaves nothing to the imagination of the viewer, spelling out the conflicts, anxieties, and doubts of the two main characters.

Bill Paxton does a good job of playing the irreverent smart aleck, and a film like "Guardians of the Galaxy" would suit him well. Justin Cornwell, who is the cop in training, plays the earnest detective well. But the show lacks a consistent focus.
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
I can't even imagine how this could be any worse
Leftbanker3 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This was horrible and unwatchable right out of the starting gate. They open with what is supposed to be a high octane action sequence. A guy is blowing holes in the front door and the two cops are hiding safely behind one quarter inch of dry wall. Then it gets really stupid.

It's full of a lot of tired actors that should be let out of Hollywood to find new careers so that some new actors can have a chance except perhaps the producers of this bomb are too stupid to discover their own talent. Gratuitous gun play and violence isn't the same thing as action. My only hope was that this was written by some thirds graders for a school project on cop movie clichés.

If you can make it to the end of this first, miserable episode you are a better man or woman than I.
40 out of 78 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Deeper than you think
bigref19 February 2017
I have read some less than stellar reviews of this show but I watched the first three episodes nonetheless. The reviewers are correct in that the show does not pass up very many cop show clichés. LA setting, bad white guy black good guy, bad Russians, bad former military, nasty black woman in charge, smarmy lawyer, killer hot women, cop drives classic Detroit iron and on and on. You get the idea.

All that said, I will always give Jerry Bruckheimer produced shows a shot. He invented a genre with CSI and Top Gun remains little Tom Chruis' best movie. This one is beginning to grow on me.
13 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
9/10
Excellent show, hope it is renewed.
pat-919763 April 2017
Loved this series, broke my heart that CBS did not honor Bill Paxton by airing the last episodes after his death. The story was a departure from the film made some years ago, but the acting was good, the action superb. Strongly feel many law & order or crime shows are based on real happenings in the world and as such, this show was very entertaining. Justin Cornwell did a good job with the role he played as well. Hope to see him in something very soon if this show is tossed out.

CBS is becoming known as a network that screws up a lot of scheduling on a regular basis. Getting tired of that aspect.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
4/10
Hm? So, the black becomes white and the white becomes bad?
McGigi16 April 2017
Far of being racist, but why the political correctness to the extreme? What should have happened if the bad guy from the movie (Denzel) continued to be bad in the series? Black guys aren't allowed to be bad anymore on TV and on the screen? They're only introspective, serious, well behaved, naive but honest, well- meaning, understanding guys? Really? There are some great actors there, besides Denzel Washington, who may be very uppset about the limitatons imposed by the networks. It is a well known fact that the bad guy is the most complex character, and almost always the most less-forgettable. It's sad that politics dictate. The show is bad. Not because what i've wrote above, but because IT IS bad. Sorry for Paxton - it is his last project. I'm very curious what will become of the show now.
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Nothing new
drjgardner9 February 2017
TV shows about bad cops are all too frequent lately. Some have been pretty good (first season of "Rogue" with Thandie Newton) and some have been slow to start ("Shades of Blue"). The latest version is "Training Day", based loosely on the hit 2001 film of the same name starring Denzel Washington and directed by Antoine Fuqua. Fuqua returns as the executive producer of the TV show, with a few changes, not the least being that it is no longer a "day" but an entire season they are shooting for.

Bill Paxton plays the "bad cop" role and he does surprisingly well. I also like Katrina Law who plays a hard ass woman on the team.The trainee (Justin Cornwell) doesn't fare so well, and no one else really stands out. Think of the quality of the supporting cast from the film (Scott Glenn, Tom Berenger, Raymond J Barry, Eva Mendes, Raymond Cruz) and the TV show comes nowhere near that level.

It's all pretty predictable and there are no real insights or interesting characters. It's all one-dimensional and been told before.

It gets better with each episode, but once again, nothing you haven't seen before.

PS - In case you didn't know, Bill Paxton died on Feb 25 2017 at the age of 61.He was a pretty good actor and his work in this series gets better and better with each episode. Personally I think it's among his finest performances.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
A sorry mess
laurapalmersdead10 March 2017
I have been a Bill Paxton fan since before most of you were born. I've appreciated his more recognized roles (Twister, Titanic, Aliens, etc.) but I loved him for his greatest roles: Lords Of Discipline, Near Dark and the unforgettable One False Move. So I was so saddened to have to watch this piece of crap and then accept that it was his swan song. The writing is horrible; nothing happens that isn't expected in a B-movie script. The dialogue is ridiculous and would embarrass those making a high school play. I imagine Bill cringing every time he is forced to speak his lines. The supporting cast try desperately to make the dialogue work (great effort, Katrina Law) but nothing could have saved this dumb series. Absolute garbage.
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
3/10
Feels rushed.
spress977 February 2017
I like the concept of a TV show based on this movie but it seem to rush action down our throat at every chance the characters are bland and hard to identify with.

Since I have only seen one episode I'll give it a run and see if the story promises the hype.

The main characters are good enough but forced together without a proper back story.

I'll give it a 3 out of ten due to the good casting and potential for a Blue Blood grittiness in the future.

AP.
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Worst. Show. Ever
2nd2none3 February 2017
Seriously this is the worse thing I have ever seen on television. I had high hopes for Training Day as I loved the movie. This is the worst acting job I have ever seen. Total Poop! I made it through 25 min of this "hot garbage" and then deleted the episode and the whole series. They can't remove this from TV soon enough. I would rather have a decaying tooth extracted from my mouth then watch another minute of this junk. I really wish could find something that I liked about it. I can't think of one thing. I mean it was so painful to watch. You would think that the producers could think of something scarier for a villains name then "Blow torch Bob" or what ever the heck it was. I mean who writes this crap? This show will last one season at most.
18 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
Maybe the worst thing on TV ever
angelo_padula4 February 2017
Tortured by terrorists..... scratching on a chalk board.... a baby getting her fingers caught in a car door..... all things I'd rather have happen to me than to watch this piece of junk.....

I'm not sure what is worse... the acting or the unbelievable nonsense of a pathetic story. Please do not waste your time.......

I have seen better film on teeth.

Bill Paxton, whom I happen to like is painful at times to watch. He must have lost a bet to take this role.

I wish I had to more hands to give this show 4 thumbs down.

If you want to watch a show based on a movie give lethal weapon a try. The acting, chemistry and story's are fun and the action is great all be it a little far fetched.
18 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
training day
zak zeman3 February 2017
Training day this show started off good and went through quite well mr Paxton gave an acceptable performance his character in the show showed rhythm and manner since his iconic role in aliens the terminator and even predator 2 basically leaded him here today (training day) I think it was good to put two guest star roles starring gonzalo Menendez and Noel G. Had perfect guest appearance roles

The first episode was good hopefully the later episodes will be also good it would be great if they could dumb down the "fake" explosions scenes thus that is one big dislike of this show

More guest star roles will come in the near future again hopefully they put more star's and also roles that would also be great

Great effort keep up the good work
18 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
7/10
As of now a great show
chrisdye-172123 February 2017
I will say that I only watched the first episode of the show so far but I like what I am seeing here it's kinda like the world we live in today where there are good cops and bad cops and there is really no thin blue line the show is action packed and super fun as of now I might wait for a few more episodes before deciding to keep it in my regular schedule for viewing but it is a good start and a fun time with the good ol law men and women who are trying to do the job right in every way possible yet still sometimes fail in the attempt at doing so I liked it can't wait for more of the story and adventure with the law I say that you should give this a try you might be surprised how you enjoy it
14 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Best new series in years!!
bidplayer19 February 2017
Just wanted to add how much I love this show. Top of the line actors, characters,and writing. I have thoroughly enjoyed every episode. Bill Paxton is one of my favorite actors and it's what drew me to watch. But I am impressed with all the fine actors I've seen in this show. I would hate to see it cancelled by CBS. CBS don't let this one go!
11 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
8/10
Training Day Is Hit!!
westclutchness5 February 2017
Training Day was a great first pilot episode, it's a nice twist from the original premise of the Traing Day movie with Denzel Washington & Ethan Hawke. Yet I think Bill Paxton does Denzel justice, and is complimentary in his performance, and portrayal of the good/bad cop, with a dark side,and a firm believer of the "end justices the means". Paxton version slightly has more heart, and he's not as shallow as the movie version. I believe Denzel would be proud of Paxton's portrayal of the dirty, dark cop that walks the fine line.

Bill Paxton witty dry humor is funny, and it's spot on with his analogical perspective banter, with bad boy charm yet dark and serious. The tone is serious enough, yet it balances with a good plot, with compelling action. Bill Paxton is the steal of the show, great start, hopefully this show is kept around, its a gem and popcorn TV. I personally think it edges out Lethal Weapon overall.
12 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
1/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine7 April 2017
Have you seen it? No? There is likely a very good reason for that...it stinks.

Like nearly ALL the endless remakes and reboots that have been plaguing movie goers for the past decade or so....all this is, is a heartless version of the original.

It has no heart.

It has no soul.

It is a retelling of a film that we all love and cherish...and it adds nothing to the story. It improves nothing but the special effects--which held up very well over time--and in some cases belittles the fans of the original...particularly in the fact that they remade the movie at all, without adding anything clever to it.

Like so many other remakes it is a hallow shell of the original.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
Cliché olé!!!
matthijsalexander18 February 2017
Warning: Spoilers
After seeing two episodes I am not sure if this has potential.

The pilot is a cliché-filled mishmash that will make your eyes roll thinking 'OMG......' The script is full of holes and situations do not flow naturally, it feels very messy and inconsistent.

Actors vary greatly. Some aren't credible at all, some do a better job but the story-line, events, aren't really credible either which makes the whole thing a hard-sell.

The pilot starts with a cop jumping out of a window while holding a baby landing on top of a car, the hero! Surely, a cliché. Then we get to figure out his father was a cop and that's why.... bladibladibla.

The second episode gets slightly better but not much. I'll give episode 3 a chance but it is very likely I'll move on to something else.

Edit: Episode 3 has been seen. Once again, horrific acting combined with a horrific illogical story-line. This show is a pure waste of time, perhaps I am a bit too old for this (though I like to think 35 is relatively young). Complete disaster this series. It only establishes that Justin Cornwell cant act.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
5/10
uphill battle
SnoopyStyle17 May 2017
Kyle Craig (Justin Cornwell) is haunted by his LAPD detective father's mysterious killing. Deputy Chief Joy Lockhart promotes him to detective to investigate rogue cop Det. Frank Rourke (Bill Paxton) who was Kyle's father's partner. He is assigned as Frank's new trainee. The team includes Rebecca Lee and Tommy Campbell. Hollywood madam Holly Butler (Julie Benz) is Frank's romantic partner and confidential informant.

This is adapted from the movie but fails to bring the intensity. Nobody can replicate Denzel. This show starts behind the eight ball. It struggles with the over-the-top style. Bill Paxton is a little too obvious. Justin Cornwell is lacking. It does recover over time but it was always an uphill battle even before Paxton's untimely death.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Absolute Garbage
Seth Baker4 April 2017
This is nothing like the movie. It is dumb and boring where the movie was smart and exciting. There is no tension at all here because you know the main characters are not going to die. Bill Paxton was a two-bit actor and shows nothing new here whatsoever. This show is an insult to the memory of the movie and should have never been made.
4 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
10/10
Sadness of The passing of Bill Paxton,a great actor
pam-1941726 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
I personally loved this show. I am sorry for the loss Of Bill Paxton. He has always been a great actor.I saw where show would not be renewed due to his passing, I do not think they could find someone else to play the roll of Frank as well as Bill did.

This show will truly be missed.
3 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
2/10
Too cheesy
SGharley17 February 2017
I have liked everything I've seen Bill Paxton in, until this show. What a waste of talent. His character is way over the top, one cliché after another. The story line isn't bad, the other actors are OK, it just the way they have Paxton playing his character. Hopefully someone in charge will fix it before it gets canned.
5 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? | Report this
loading
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews