IMDb > "Training Day" (2017) > Reviews & Ratings - IMDb

Reviews & Ratings for
"Training Day" More at IMDbPro »

Write review
Filter: Hide Spoilers:
Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]
Index 16 reviews in total 

22 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

Poor is a description for this series that does not even come close to what i really think.

1/10
Author: Rob Macleod from United Kingdom
4 February 2017

Hammy and full of awful one liners. I initially thought it was a comedy.

Although you are initially pushed into the deep end at the start of the 1st episode, somehow you just know what scene is coming up next and exactly how the characters are going to interact. Training day pretends to be gritting and hard hitting but its as authentic as the 80's series A team but without the slapstick humour.

Poorly written, poorly edited and I feel poor as I lost 30 minutes of my life watching it. OK, so the acting and direction was not bad however, if you are going to attempt to make a spin off of the cult classic then at least spent more than a day writing the series.

Was the above review useful to you?

25 out of 41 people found the following review useful:

I can't even imagine how this could be any worse

1/10
Author: Leftbanker from Spain
3 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

This was horrible and unwatchable right out of the starting gate. They open with what is supposed to be a high octane action sequence. A guy is blowing holes in the front door and the two cops are hiding safely behind one quarter inch of dry wall. Then it gets really stupid.

It's full of a lot of tired actors that should be let out of Hollywood to find new careers so that some new actors can have a chance except perhaps the producers of this bomb are too stupid to discover their own talent. Gratuitous gun play and violence isn't the same thing as action. My only hope was that this was written by some thirds graders for a school project on cop movie clichés.

If you can make it to the end of this first, miserable episode you are a better man or woman than I.

Was the above review useful to you?

13 out of 19 people found the following review useful:

Maybe the worst thing on TV ever

1/10
Author: angelo_padula from United States
4 February 2017

Tortured by terrorists..... scratching on a chalk board.... a baby getting her fingers caught in a car door..... all things I'd rather have happen to me than to watch this piece of junk.....

I'm not sure what is worse... the acting or the unbelievable nonsense of a pathetic story. Please do not waste your time.......

I have seen better film on teeth.

Bill Paxton, whom I happen to like is painful at times to watch. He must have lost a bet to take this role.

I wish I had to more hands to give this show 4 thumbs down.

If you want to watch a show based on a movie give lethal weapon a try. The acting, chemistry and story's are fun and the action is great all be it a little far fetched.

Was the above review useful to you?

10 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Worst. Show. Ever

1/10
Author: 2nd2none from AZ
3 February 2017

Seriously this is the worse thing I have ever seen on television. I had high hopes for Training Day as I loved the movie. This is the worst acting job I have ever seen. Total Poop! I made it through 25 min of this "hot garbage" and then deleted the episode and the whole series. They can't remove this from TV soon enough. I would rather have a decaying tooth extracted from my mouth then watch another minute of this junk. I really wish could find something that I liked about it. I can't think of one thing. I mean it was so painful to watch. You would think that the producers could think of something scarier for a villains name then "Blow torch Bob" or what ever the heck it was. I mean who writes this crap? This show will last one season at most.

Was the above review useful to you?

7 out of 12 people found the following review useful:

Feels rushed.

3/10
Author: spress97 from Hamilton, Scotland
7 February 2017

I like the concept of a TV show based on this movie but it seem to rush action down our throat at every chance the characters are bland and hard to identify with.

Since I have only seen one episode I'll give it a run and see if the story promises the hype.

The main characters are good enough but forced together without a proper back story.

I'll give it a 3 out of ten due to the good casting and potential for a Blue Blood grittiness in the future.

AP.

Was the above review useful to you?

9 out of 17 people found the following review useful:

Keep watching

7/10
Author: Ryan M from California
6 February 2017

Regardless of the other reviews, I found this TV show entertaining and just dark enough to make me want to watch more. I like the fantasy that the police are out there kicking ass and bending the rules against a group of people (gangstas) that don't play by the rules themselves. If you liked the movie and enjoy cop shows I think you'll like this one too. Time will tell. I believe there is plenty of room for more supporting actors and I like the theme of the younger officer. Great twist at the end. I like Bill Paxton's work in this episode and I hope he continues to develop his character more. Game over man. We're all gonna die!

Was the above review useful to you?

0 out of 1 people found the following review useful:

Cliché olé!!!

5/10
Author: matthijsalexander from Netherlands
18 February 2017

*** This review may contain spoilers ***

After seeing two episodes I am not sure if this has potential.

The pilot is a cliché-filled mishmash that will make your eyes roll thinking 'OMG......' The script is full of holes and situations do not flow naturally, it feels very messy and inconsistent.

Actors vary greatly. Some aren't credible at all, some do a better job but the story-line, events, aren't really credible either which makes the whole thing a hard-sell.

The pilot starts with a cop jumping out of a window while holding a baby landing on top of a car, the hero! Surely, a cliché. Then we get to figure out his father was a cop and that's why.... bladibladibla.

The second episode gets slightly better but not much. I'll give episode 3 a chance but it is very likely I'll move on to something else.

Was the above review useful to you?

3 out of 8 people found the following review useful:

Nothing new

4/10
Author: drjgardner from California
9 February 2017

TV shows about bad cops are all too frequent lately. Some have been pretty good (first season of "Rogue" with Thandie Newton) and some have been slow to start ("Shades of Blue"). The latest version is "Training Day", based loosely on the hit 2001 film of the same name starring Denzel Washington and directed by Antoine Fuqua. Fuqua returns as the executive producer of the TV show, with a few changes, not the least being that it is no longer a "day" but an entire season they are shooting for.

Bill Paxton plays the "bad cop" role and he does surprisingly well. The trainee (Justin Cornwell) doesn't fare so well, and no one else on the team really stands out. Think of the quality of the supporting cast from the film (Scott Glenn, Tom Berenger, Raymond J Barry, Eva Mendes, Raymond Cruz) and the TV show comes nowhere near that level.

It's all pretty predictable and there are no real insights or interesting characters. It's all one-dimensional and been told before. Maybe it will get better, but the first episode wasn't impressive.

Was the above review useful to you?

11 out of 26 people found the following review useful:

As of now a great show

7/10
Author: chrisdye-17212 from Lancaster sc
3 February 2017

I will say that I only watched the first episode of the show so far but I like what I am seeing here it's kinda like the world we live in today where there are good cops and bad cops and there is really no thin blue line the show is action packed and super fun as of now I might wait for a few more episodes before deciding to keep it in my regular schedule for viewing but it is a good start and a fun time with the good ol law men and women who are trying to do the job right in every way possible yet still sometimes fail in the attempt at doing so I liked it can't wait for more of the story and adventure with the law I say that you should give this a try you might be surprised how you enjoy it

Was the above review useful to you?

15 out of 34 people found the following review useful:

training day

7/10
Author: zeke riptide
3 February 2017

Training day this show started off good and went through quite well mr Paxton gave an acceptable performance his character in the show showed rhythm and manner since his iconic role in aliens the terminator and even predator 2 basically leaded him here today (training day) I think it was good to put two guest star roles starring gonzalo Menendez and Noel G. Had perfect guest appearance roles

The first episode was good hopefully the later episodes will be also good it would be great if they could dumb down the "fake" explosions scenes thus that is one big dislike of this show

More guest star roles will come in the near future again hopefully they put more star's and also roles that would also be great

Great effort keep up the good work

Was the above review useful to you?


Page 1 of 2:[1] [2] [Next]

Add another review


Related Links

Ratings External reviews Main details
Your user reviews Your vote history