Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
803 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
If this was an apology for the Emoji Movie, then apology accepted!
sirwillisiv14 December 2018
I have to say, and no pun-intended: Into the Spider-Verse is a total marvel, all the way down to its stylish and diverse styles of animation to its bold, sophisticated storytelling. The visuals are absolutely enchanting. Fast, colorful, and distinct. Something Sony Animation always nails is how each character has a pronounced look and movement. With the various kinds of Spider-Men and Marvel villains featured in this story, the animators went all out to give them a unique identity. Notably in this case are Spider-Man Noir, Peni Parker, and Spider-Ham. Noir, whose universe takes place in 1930s New York, boasts a dark, shadowy vibe similar to Sin City, Peni Parker has a bubbly anime look, and Spider-Ham is a bouncy, eccentric cartoon character who takes full advantage of his absurd existence to deliver some of the film's best laughs. Even with these different identities, the film slows down to balance their character in a serious nature. Heck, one of the most hard-hitting, poignant lines is spoken by Spider-Ham, the breakout comedic relief.

Miles and a majority of characters share the same art style. I really enjoy the blend of 3D models with traditional 2D movement. It's very appealing to watch and it seamlessly matches the comic book theme. I also appreciate the stylization of certain villains. Kingpin is a character I don't think was portrayed accurately outside of the comics, just appearing as a generic, heavy-set bald brute, when he's really an enormous, borderline non-human tank. Kingpin looks excellent in this film, with his titanic body and small head with an intimidating grimace. He's a powerful force and a legitimately scary antagonist. Doc Ock is another example, portrayed as a brilliant, but outlandish female scientist with a psychotic passion for villainy. I didn't feel like I needed to know more about her character, she was such a fun villainess to watch. She really added to the suspense in some action sequences.

I really loved the story. I thought it was rich with charm and thrills. Granted, I did notice some familiar elements that are done to death in superhero fiction and the animation canon alike, such as surprise villain reveals and major character deaths that were obviously seen coming, and I certainly wish some characters (espeically Miles' uncle) had more screentime, but there's one fact that overshadows these flaws for me: The writing is mature. First of all, it's a Sony Animation product. If you look at this company's past work, some of it is very soulless with its marketing and panders to its audience with incessant pop culture references and juvenile comedy. Into the Spider-Verse is a welcome departure. Passion and integrity was put into this project. The writing is very grounded and treats its audience like people who want to see a genuinely captivating flick. Heck, the first third of the film is somewhat slow and nonchalant, almost like an arthouse film. I've never had such a cool, yet off-beat and engaged feeling while watching an animated film on the big screen. Nothing was forced, nothing felt out-of-place, nothing took me out of immersion. The tone and pacing is very adult, even when something excessively goofy like Spider-Ham is on-screen. It's like the Marvel Cinematic Universe. It can be dark and distressing, but lighthearted and amusing. There's a perfect balance and it never sacrifices integrity just to appeal to a niche audience. Well...there is that after-credits scene, but it was quite hilarious, so I let it pass.

That's the most I can say without spoiling a lot of the film. I want you to see this absolute marvel with your own eyes. To close, Into the Spider-Verse is everything I hoped it would be. This is a game-changer for both superhero filmmaking and animation altogether. Sleek, colorful, funny, emotional, frenetic. This film skillfully balances all these elements. There is never a moment that felt forced, it never talks down to the audience. It's a mature and stylish take on the Spider-Man mythos, and perhaps the best big-screen Spidey picture to date with some of the best animated visuals you'll ever see. I didn't have a single issue with this film. I was dazzled and moved throughout. Sony Animation, if this was your apology for The Emoji Movie, then apology goddamn accepted. Massive bravo!
527 out of 606 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stan Lee Is Smiling Right Now
eaglescout91017 December 2018
A movie worthy of Stan Lee's approval. Incredible animation, great story, great message. This film lives up to the hype and honestly surpassed my expectations. The only reason I think there are some negative reviews is because you can never please everyone. However, for the vast majority of viewers, I believe you'll find this film to be great. Highly recommend seeing it in theaters just for the amazing animation style.
227 out of 276 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the most visually stunning film I've ever seen
soulsplosion20 December 2018
There's hardly anything I would improve about this film. The visuals, concepts, soundtrack, characters, pace, humor and animation are all some of the best I've ever seen in any film; I was worried the hype would ruin it for me, as it always does, but not even the group of kids in the theater who wouldn't stop loudly talking could ruin it for me. It is visually engaging and beautiful in every scene, not to mention with an incredibly unique art style, and is honestly something other animated movies should have to look up to for a long time. The only real issue I can think of is the flashing lights, which really alienates any epileptic audience, but even then it's done so in a beautiful and artful way.
162 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The better the art, the harder it is to find the right words to describe it.
thinslicing21 December 2018
Sure, we can dissect and critique and praise using any number of words we choose, but in the end to actually appreciate truly great art, it simply must be experienced in the medium in which it was created. For this movie, it was lovingly crafted in 3D, and so in my opinion can only be fully realized by the viewer in 3D.

What is a comic book movie, and what makes it great? From the original Superman where we first saw a comic book hero fly, to Burton's dark and stylized Batman, to the graphic novel style Sin City, live action ensemble X-MEN, Spider-Man, Iron-Man, The Dark Knight, the entire MCU....all of these are comic book movies, and depending on your personal definition probably range from good to great. And they're all live action with varying degrees of special effects, and some with animation. If you had to pick ones that 'feel the most like a comic book', you'd probably pick Sin City for the overall look, and the phase 3 MCU films for a combination of visuals and capturing the tone and spirit of the comic book story arcs.

But they aren't literally animated comics. The closest to that would probably be the animated movies, right? Like Mask of the Phantasm or any number of the Marvel animated movies. But again those are really 'just cartoons', and I don't mean that in a bad way. They're simply cartoon versions of comic books.

Spider-Man: Into The Spider-Verse is quite literally an animated comic book, and yet it is so much more at the same time. It's an explosion of comic book ink and paper, a dizzying palette of superbly rich colors, a jaw dropping display of digital artistry melded with living, breathing characters we care about, a story that is perfectly derived from the very medium in which it is being created and yet not for one single moment ever feels forced or hollow, a soundtrack fused with an endless exploration of a massive city, staggeringly sized scientific chambers, gigantic forests, and neon-electric-digital-dreamscapes of action set pieces that whir and click and come to life exactly as they do in the minds of children reading them on paper.

This movie is breathtakingly good in every aspect. Like-I'm-questioning-my-sanity-is-it-really-as-good-as-I-think-it-is!?!? Yes. Yes yes yes.

Remember the old Sega game Comix Zone? And how it was like "oh wow! It's a comic book come to life!"? This is like that, with modern technology, cranked up a thousand times.

But here's the most important part - *it was all done in the right way, by the right people, at the right time*. It feels like this project was greenlit and handed to the very people who created comic books themselves with a "here ya go, you have full creative control. Oh and by the way you have an unlimited budget! And resources! Have as much fun making a great movie as you possibly can!"

My first job was working in a movie theater. I took full advantage of being able to see free movies. I've built a decent surround sound system with all the creature comforts and have a growing library of movies. From the re-release of the original Star Wars trilogy, to each of the prequels and to the ongoing trilogy today, T-2, Titanic, the original X-Men, Avatar, The Dark Knight, Avengers, Avengers: Infinity War and so many more...I've gone to many, many big movie theater events for the experience. And I can safely say hands down that Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse in 3D is the best moviegoing experience I have ever had. It's that great.
134 out of 166 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Game Changer
cafesmitty21 December 2018
Have you ever sat through a film and you knew that films would never be the same going forward? For example, Terminator 2, Star Wars.. the first Toy Story... Iron Man

Well this is one of those. This is a almost rather perfect film. Let me just say the the stylished animation is just top notch. It as if the comic book leaped off the pages. I've seen practically all super hero films to include the DC animated ones. This feels as if they took comic books and Playstation animation and just came up with this perfect look.

And the story is great.. the pacing is so wonderful. It is able to tell the story.. and an origin without boring us to tears like Zack Snyder has done in the DC universe. The story is quiet touching. And it allows us to have a pretty interesting Spider Man in Miles WITHOUT thrashing or having a Peter Parker like experience.

Plus our the villains are so well done..

But I think we will see a lot more of this type of animation in the future from Sony. I think they announced their presence with authority.. like how Dreamworks did with Shrek.. and how Pixar did.

It's been awhile I seen something so unexpected and so cool.
98 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Spidey Movie That Works In Multiple Dimensions
Cizzurp21514 December 2018
Visually stunning. Great storyline. Great cast. Amazing soundtrack. Tear jerking cameo. Pop culture post credit scene of the decade. Thank you Marvel and Sony for making a Spidey movie everyone can love.
219 out of 289 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Giving Infinity war a run for it's money
vancewinstead15 December 2018
This movie was absolutely incredible. From the animation, to the storytelling, to the characters this movie is completely one of a kind. It is easily the best looking animated movie of the year (no surprise there), but what really caught me off guard was the story they were able to tell in such a short amount of time. Each character has their own distinct personality and is given their own separate characterization without making the movie feel bloated. I knew I would end up liking this movie, but this movie has completely exceeded my expectations. If you enjoy superheros or animation you should 100% definitely watch it in a theater.
172 out of 231 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Into The Spider-verse reminds us why we love Spiderman so much, and does so in an original and humane way.
darthakam21 December 2018
Heads-up: I'm only going to be talking about Peter Parker in this review. I'll make a separate one for the film laterm I just feel like he deserves his own review. That's how great Peter is in this film.

Into The Spider-verse reminds us why we love Spiderman so much, and does so in an original and humane way.

I used to love Spiderman as a kid. I got obssessed with the cartoons he starred in as well as the original movie trilogy, one that actually helped me get interested in the character and marvel as a whole. But my love for this character, as most things, dissolved and it never got around to build itself up again, even after constant remakes and wonderful performances. I never felt that spark again, that love I felt for this charming dude was gone, dead.

Then Into The Spider-verse came, and my whole world turned upside down. I felt a fire inside my stomach. There it was, that long-forgotten love for Peter Parker, one that I thought I would never experience again, expanding continuously as the movie progressed, hitting me in all the right places.

I'd even dare to say that this movie made me understand the reason as to why spider-man is universally loved:

He's an everyday guy with super powers, that's it. He's flawed but pure at heart. He's relatable. He belongs to the people. He's one of us.

This movie's fresh take on Peter Parker is exactly what we needed to fully grasp that, how compelling this character can be without using any of his super powers. This version of Peter Parker is fat, subtly depressed, and tired, yet he's the most charming and lovable version of this character yet. It's something we haven't seen in quite a while, the genuine humanity that makes Peter Parker such a charismatic character, and one can only be thankful for it.

Spider-man is cool again, but in a totally different, and perhaps even better, way. Just your everyday dude taking a leap of faith, giving the audience who relates to his struggles courage to do the same. This is what Spiderman can be and what he should be. A character that's ours, a character that teaches you that anyone can be a hero, that's the real Spiderman. This is the true Homecoming. Spiderman is freaking back! Welcome home!
90 out of 120 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Come on give this a chance
vincenttciccarello20 December 2018
Amazing movie. Great animation, the best Spider-Man movie in my opinion
73 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sony, you are reedemed.
grabeeleverett20 December 2018
Okay first of all, WHAT SONY? A good animated film?! A GREAT animated film?! Don't has reedemed themselves in my book and have created the DEFINITIVE Spider-Man movie in the process.
66 out of 92 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the best'
prithukvb21 December 2018
Everything about this movie is exceptional And 1st time watch is not worth, you should literally watch this atleast 2-3 times to gully enjoy every single frame
53 out of 74 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best animated film of 2018
eashanvad13 December 2018
I had high expectations for this movie and it didn't fail to meet them, this film has great animation, great humour, emotion, and heart. It has pretty much everything people would want for an animated movie.
124 out of 187 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Kingpin is the swolest.
lidwig-9202920 December 2018
This film is storytelling at its finest. They've really transferred the art of comic book story telling onto the big screen to a level that no other film has matched. Beautiful and fresh animation. They've not been afraid to try something new and it has definitely paid off. I hope this sets an example for future films, as it's definitely raised the bar! A film that can be both parents and children's favourites. Very memorable.
52 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
We need a sequel!!
ethan-3302722 December 2018
Warning: Spoilers
It's amazing!! Go watch it now!

Honestly, it's one of the best movies I have watched this year. It has one of the best animated movies I've ever seen. It's just this good. It has great character, a simple but very compelling and interesting story and it's just a really good time. Miles was great. I loved his insecurities. It's a weird thing to say but the character feels very relatable and real. You feel his struggles and the pressure that he has to face in his life, with his parents, him releasing that his uncle is working for KingPin, living up to Peter Parker and Gwen and all the other spider people's expectations. You real feel for him. As for Peter Parker, I didn't like that they killed off Peter Parker from this universe at the start of the movie and then another version of Peter just comes up immediately after that. It kinda ruins the death and sadness a little. I would have liked it more if they had a couple more scene or maybe a one day jump before introducing the new spider man. But that's just me. After the Peter J. Parker, was introduced everything just kicked in from there. The whole sequence with Peter and Miles breaking in and out of that lab was wonderfully entertaining and Gwen's entrance couldn't be better. The other spider people introduced later were less useful aside from looking cool and having some memorable moments.

Have I talked about the animation yet? it's freaking amazing and watching this actually inspired me to work on some of my art projects that I have been putting off. From the details of the sky scrapers to the reflections and the whole climatic battle scene at the end is just beautifully done and just really really good and satisfying to look at.

Overall, the plot, the characters, the animation and the Stan Lee (oh, yes that was good too. Rest in peace Stan Lee, the line he delivered was also really funny and emotional as well) were just spectacular and amazing (see what I did there) and I definitely recommend this movie, even if you're not a Spiderman fan, watch it please. We need a sequel to for this movie. My hope on Sony has been restored.
32 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A feast for the eyes and ears
bretlucas20 December 2018
Best Spiderman movie I've seen so far. The animation is stunning and I love how the 'glitching' theme ties in with the animation style/framerate and music. Genius on all levels.
43 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Spider-Man movie by far!!!
dfisher-8528114 December 2018
I hardly post reviews but, I Just watched Spider-Man Into the Spider-Verse and OMG that is by far in my opinion the best Spider-Man movie ever!!! The story was so well written, the characters were awesome, the music was actually awesome, and OMG the art style they chose for this movie was so amazing and it was like watching a living comic book!!! Also, you know how sometimes superheros usually just come off as superheros and not like actual people well they actually showed emotion and development and oml just see it I geeked out enough 😂 Edit: if the creators somehow see this post You created something brilliant with this film, And you made Stan and Steve proud. Good Job, Spider-Verse team. Excelsior!!!
105 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Cinematic Euphoria
hjemmefra21 December 2018
Pituitary overload, pop art sugar rush, bugeyed & reeling amazed at the sheer level of originality barrelling at you at the speed of light. Animation reaching for it´s potential and massaging your brain till your spine tingles. Needs to be experienced.
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A M A Z I N G !
olivieralvarezg22 December 2018
Went to see the movie in IMAX 3D on LSD. Best experience of my life! This is a masterpiece.
31 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best animation ever!
shishavee17 December 2018
The storyline was good and the actions was superb! Everything about this movie is worth watching. I don't normally give full star review for a movie but this one - you deserve it! Big claps to this production. Good job!
21 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Spider-Man Movie Sony Needed
jetmoviereviews19 December 2018
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is an ambitious film. Sony's last few attempts with the character of Spider-Man have been underwhelming to say the least. I haven't seen a good Sony owned Spider-Man movie since 2004's Spider-Man 2. Luckily, Spider-Man: Homecoming turned out to be a pretty good film, but that was mainly Disney and Marvel Studios, so I still had low expectations. However, I am happy to say that Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is an awesome Spider-Man film, and an amazing film overall. Instead of following Peter Parker like every other Spider-Man film out there, this film instead tells the story of Miles Morales and how he handles being Spider-Man. This is a bit different, however, because instead of skipping the learning and the suit making, we see his struggles firsthand. Miles makes a promise to his world's original Spider-Man that he would put a stop to Kingpin, but he has no idea how to control his powers, so he has a hard time. Luckily, Kingpin's fancy collider machine happens to bring in some other Spider-Man, as well, so that Miles can get the help that he needs. The best part about this film is the way the characters are handled. The writers understand the character of Spider-Man, no matter what dimension he/she is from. They all have different personalities and art styles that make them stand out from each other. They did such a great job that I now want to see spin-off films for all of the Spider-Men in this movie. Into the Spider-Verse is a lighthearted film, and is able to mix seriousness with comedy for the perfect effect. From the comedy aspect, the film, as I said before, understands Spider-Man. He is a funny character and knows how to stay calm in any situation. He cracks goofy jokes and says witty one-liners. With this movie, the different personalities of the different Spider-Men mixing together brings the comedy. On the other hand, the serious family issues bring some conflict to different characters, but in order to keep this spoiler free, I will not go in depth. There is one issue I have with the film, but it isn't too big. Okay, the character is too big, but the issue is not. Kingpin, I feel, needed more characterization in order for me to think of him as a good villain. We learned some things about his family, but that was really it. He was a just a large man who wanted to conduct an evil plot. I can look past this, however, because the movie wasn't really focused on Kingpin. It was more focused on the Spider-Men, and most importantly, Miles Morales. Since this was done so well, I can forgive the film the Kingpin issue. Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse was a film that was much needed on Sony's part, because it shows that they still have good things they can do with the character. Animation, I feel, is the best format for Spider-Man, but that might be because I grew up watching the Spider-Man animated series. Overall, this is an awesome film, and definitely deserves a watch. If you are a Spider-Man fan, I believe you will truly adore this movie as much as I did. If you are a heavy critic who doesn't know much about the character of Spider-Man, I think you will enjoy this movie too. If you just like movies in general, go out and see this movie. It's worth it.
32 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best movie of the year and best Spider-Man film
andresromerocompain23 December 2018
Spider-Man: Into the Spider-Verse is a masterpiece. It is by far the best Spider-Man movie today. It's such a refreshing and creative take on a Spider-Man movie while at the same time doing something completely different and incredibly creative with him and very fascinating. The animation in this movie is beyond amazing, and it was so cool and interesting to see the way this movie was animated. That is really the highlight of this movie. Especially adding on to the fact that all the acting is fantastic, the dialogue is wonderful and rich, the characters are awesome and funny, and the story is fantastic and fresh. This by far is the best movie of the year, which is shocking and so unexpected. This beautifully paced, action packed, heart filled movie is the one you must see in the theater this Christmas. Also cause it did manage to be the best Spider-Man movie and Marvel movie today, how mind blowing! Not only that, the people who made this have proven they truly have an understanding to the character of Spider-Man.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Visuals and editing above expectations
storresas22 December 2018
For great superhero a masterpiece from Sony. Spider Man Into the Spider verse was above expectations. Great story , visuals , editing , character designs , soundtrack. A big fat TEN from me. Movie had almost everything what fans wanted. We got and we love it. The best animated movie this year for sure if not the best of all time. All in all I recommend it for everyone who have MARVEL in their hearts.
19 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
How on God's green Earth did this work so well???
matthewssilverhammer21 December 2018
The worlds of superhero movies and superhero comics are not as similar as they seem on the surface. Currently, film studios are all about the "extended universe", seeing how many different titles and characters they can shove into one franchise (Avengers, X-Men, Justice League), making for an easy way to squeeze a few extra bucks out of their lesser known properties. Comics have this as well, of course. However, they also have something modern movies haven't really tapped into yet: story one-offs, a chance for a storyteller to create a unique tale and not be constrained by the implications on or from the larger universe. Spider-Verse gets to do just that, while playfully taking on the fun (if convoluted) absurdity of extended superhero universes. Listen, I hear you. "How could we possibly need another Spider-Man movie?" Spider-Verse understands that question and has a take on it. Yes, Peter Parker is here. In fact, there are two Peter Parkers. There's also a Spider-Woman, a Noir Spider-Man, an anime Spider-Girl/Robot, and a Spider-Pig. At the center though is Miles Morales, an Afro-Hispanic Brooklyn teen who must help these other Spider-People get back to their own planes of existence. He fights with his cop dad, he adores his shady uncle, hates being simply the smartest kid in the room, and just wants to do something that matters. Being Spider-Man wasn't his idea, but hey, when a radioactive spider gives you powers, what choice do you have? Look, I don't have any sort of hot take on this movie. It looks great, the humor pops with surprises, the voice casting is beyond perfect. It's simply a stylishly exciting and refreshingly unique take on the superhero genre, and sometimes that's more than enough.
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This movie is not over hyped!
benribble15 December 2018
Going into this I had high hopes but, was afraid It might not be as good as the hype says But, damn... This movie is underhyped. I loved every second of it. The animation was gorgeous, the characters were so fun and the soundtrack, flawless. The twists, you never see coming and don't even get me started on how beautiful the end fight scene was. This film is the best animated film of 2018 and in my opinion, the best film of 2018 definitely worth seeing!
75 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is the best thing out there right now.
bilal_bilu21 December 2018
Alright I have litreally never done a review before this. Like no other movie this year excited me enough to make an account on IMDb and write my opinion.

Anyhow..first of all the animation is dope. I love the art style. Its colorful, sketchy, comic book style but like dope.

The best part is story tho. The problem with spiderman is that, its always somehow an origin story and we have dozens of those by now. Aaaand this one is also an origin story, however its not. It is but its told in such a way that you don't feel bored. You wanna know more, you get excited for it.

Honestly I can keep rambling about it..i loved it, everyone i know loved it. Its freaking lovely.

Watch it. And watch it in a cinema. It's worth it.

Have i mentioned that Its awesome.

Oh and the animation is dope. It is.
33 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed