Bohemian Rhapsody (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
2,908 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The Critics where wrong about the song in 1975,and they are wrong about the movie in 2018
ramonvandinther28 October 2018
This movie is a must see for any music and movie lover Queen fan or no Queen fan,anyone who sees this movie will be going through a rollercoaster of Emotions Beeing it Queens music or the story behind the music Rami Malek puts down an excellent version of Freddie Mercury, but all the actors play great in this movie In my opinion best thing to do is ignore the criticism and go see it for yourself.
2,794 out of 3,200 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of my favorites in 75 years
nanci-5575912 November 2018
I'm a 75 yr old Gramma that saw this movie with her son and grandson. We all Loved it! I "heard" Queen music as I worked and raised my 4 children, but never really knew the band it came from. My children Lived with Queen music, and totally identified with them, especially in their band performances. My grandson heard Queen because his father played it all the time. We saw this movie as a family and the movie was about family, friends, and loyalty. The typical band movie is about rising-to-fame, falling-from-fame. This movie is about hanging together as family, as loyal friends ..something we Really need more of today!! The 2 :15 time frame flies by and you're left wanting more...more... more... Rami Malek is awesome as Freddie! He, his 3 co-stars, last director, music director, and entire crew deserve nominations! See this in a theatre that has great sound where you can appreciate the depth of the music! One of my most favorite movies in 75 years!
1,219 out of 1,414 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Queen is king!!
david-626-14806324 October 2018
Wow! I feel mind-blown after watching the world premiere yesterday evening. I am whether a megahuge Queen fan (although I really like many of their songs), nor do I know how accurate the storytelling is (, but I suppose pretty accurate since both Brian May and Roger Taylor are co-producers of the film), but I found the movie both intoxicating and moving. I have read some of the professional reviews, and I cannot comprehend their search of documentary wisdom in this movie; this is not a documentary, but an entertaining story of one of the world's most iconic bands. And the film delivers on all aspects. (And the critics were so wrong about the song Bohemian Rhapsody upon its release).

As Brian May pinpointed in the interview on the red carpet, he found that the casting was excellent (I don't remember the exact word he used). But he is so right. Every major role is perfectly casted, and all the band members are brilliant. But I must emphasize Rami Malek's role as Freddie. It has Oscar written all over it. What he does, is almost beyond comparison. Chapeau for even taking on this role, and then delivering what he does. Even better, although marginally, than Michael Douglas in Behind the Candelabra. And Gwilym Lee as Brian May is also a bull's eye, but Malek really carries the production on his tiny shoulders. It was like watching our beloved Freddie all over again.

Many, many memorable moments, but the Live Aid performance recreated: it is one of the best scenes I have ever seen - and I have seen lots and lots of films. Chapeau for director(s) and producers and the whole team for to me delivering the best film YTD in 2018!!
1,323 out of 1,560 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
It makes you wish you where born earlier
Toggy8324 October 2018
I dont know how to elaborate more than this. If you are 35 and younger, you will understand after seeing this movie.
1,161 out of 1,377 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You go to be entertained, but find yourself moved.
chas_newport25 October 2018
My wife and I both enjoyed this immensely. We are Queen fans and attended the tribute concert a after Freddie died.

This film is extraordinary, first and foremost, for Rami Malek's performance. The physical resemblance is only a small part of that. He had Freddie's body language down to a tee.

But the crowning glory is the vocals. They are absolutely mind blowing. I don't know how they did it, I'm assuming it's Freddie's voice. The lip sync is flawless. If it's Malek singing, the Oscar is in the bag.

I've heard there are some negative reviews floating around. I find that astonishing. I hope Malek gets at least a few nominations for this. He should get multiple awards.
943 out of 1,122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Long live Queen
senorkairun23 October 2018
I just saw the world premiere and oh boy let me tell you about it:

This movie might not be a masterpiece but my heart is filled with such happiness and joy after watching it that I think it's going to burst (sorry for the cheesiness), Freddie Mercury, Brian May, Roger Taylor and John Deacon are so exquisitely portrayed I sometimes forgot it wasn't them, the performances were so on point and so powerful you could feel the energy burst through the screen. ¿Have you seen the famous car scene in Wayne's world? well, now imagine a full room doing the same, people couldn't help but sing along (lets be honest, it's impossible not too).

I laughed, cried, sang and wished I could have seen Queen live, this band will live forever.
766 out of 924 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Makes you realise what a loss Freddie was
alanfield-7376524 October 2018
This movie was a brilliant portrayal of the mixed up life, and massive talent that was Mercury ... and that is in no way meant to diminish the other fabulous musicians who made up this wonderful band. Whilst Freddie's life and death are quite well documented, his inner turmoil is not - this movie opens this up for all to see, and highlights actions and individuals who had a large influence on his fragile life, both good and horrendously bad. If only he could have been happy with the knowledge that he had one of the best singing voices, if not THE best, that ever fronted a rock band. Rami Malek does a wonderful job of portraying him, and in so many ways has captured his mannerisms to a tee. Loved it, and listening to the music in an IMAX auditorium was brilliant.
659 out of 798 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Truly brilliant.
pulliptears-805-31797325 October 2018
For those of us of a certain age Queen, and especially Freddie, defined us. Sitting through this movie I had goosebumps. The casting just works and watching the actors playing May and Deacon you'd be forgiven in thinking someone had access to a time machine. Even Kenny Everett was instantly recognisable. I left this movie a strange combination of elated and terribly sad. Elated to hear the music, watch the story and yet sad that Freddie was so desperately lonely. Ultimately, I think Freddie would have approved of the whole thing. His genius and flamboyance shone through. Truly brilliant.
823 out of 1,006 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Extraordinary & Mind-blowing.
raudafitriani2 November 2018
Rami Malek will be forever one of my favorite actors since the day I've watched Mr Robot, I knew he will be one of the biggest star someday. Freddie Mercury is legend, everyone loves him but not everyone knows his story. Freddy Mercury is fearless, but not everyone knows about his desperately lonely. I dont't know how accurate the storytelling is but this movie is absolutely mind blowing and brilliant, such a perfect tribute to the legend!

I'm not saying this movie is perfect or masterpiece, infact this movie has some issues with the director and delayed. But after I walk out of the theater, my heart is filled with joy, tears of happiness, brought so many emotions. That's how you know the movie is fantastic, darling. The casting was brilliant, bravo! I can't get enough with Rami Malek, he obviously worked so hard, Rami Malek pulls off an amazing performance, he just brings Freddie back to life and I don't think you will see any better film about Freddie Mercury again. It's an oppurtunity of a lifetime, every aspects of this movie was executed beautifully. Also the whole cast was so close to perfection! Gwilym as Brian May, Ben as Roger, and Joseph as John are amazing as Rami. Truly magnificent. I recommend to go and see this movie, whether you are fans of Queen or not.
505 out of 634 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rami Malek you rock!
sarahjanegannon27 October 2018
Wow. What a truly inspiring film. Made me feel that being eccentric and different is ok as long as you are you! The film brought so many emotions - laughter, sadness, joy - very heart warming. At times I forgot I wasn't actually watching the guys from Queen - they all looked so like them - especially May and Mercury. I thought Rami rocked the role. Massive respect to this guy! Would happily pay to go back in and watch it again! My film of 2018!!!!
467 out of 592 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Those movies who make the critics look like a bunch a monkeys
mehdital9 November 2018
I love it when it happens again and again, critics are too lost in their purist world to see something well done. Just watch the movie, it is worth your time!
362 out of 470 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The crtics are wrong!
bmhardy_0524 October 2018
Quite simply the critics are wrong! This is a fitting tribute to the best performer and band of all time.
497 out of 659 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent
jackrlarson-7267923 October 2018
One of the best movies of the year! The performances are all excellent. The music surpasses what I had imagined. Brings back the eighties superbly. The last 15 to 20 brought tears to many in the showing I was at. Don't miss it.
397 out of 537 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Bohemian Rhapsody - Before the film my wife said to me ...
brankovranjkovic25 October 2018
Biopic.

Charts the rise to fame of one of the greatest rock bands ever.

Touches on Freddie Mercury's (his stage name) background, then how he met the band and became their front man, the development of their unique sound, their meteoric rise to fame, and the key moments leading to Band Aid.

Briefly (probably too briefly) touches on Freddie's AIDS condition.

The film starts at the same moment as it ends with Freddie arriving on (Live Aid) stage, the last 15 minutes is their whole Live Aid performance.

Before the film my wife said to me ... "I'm not a fan, I didn't like their music, and I'm not looking forward to this" After the film my wife said to me ... "I really enjoyed that, think I'm a fan"

So ... this film is good, whether you think you're a fan or not.
335 out of 455 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I never watched movie 2 times in cinema. Until BohRap
siro-604-94791910 November 2018
Forget the critics. If they want a full biography movie go to discovery channel.

This is the his majesty Queen's movie. Made by and for the fans and non fans

I never watched movie 2 times in cinema - this is the only one i did. I watched on CGV cinema, had my tears, and decided to try the IMAX experience, and it is worthed it.

Rami Malik was excellent, all the casts were! You always thought "We are the Champion" was a cheesy song made for the competition or olympic winners. After watching this movie, boy my view will never be the same of this song. This song deserve a country to use it as national anthemn.

10/10

I reiterate - Forget the critics. Go to IMAX and enjoy this movie
221 out of 302 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This IS QUEEN!!
zoeemclean24 October 2018
Just watched "BoRhap" and I'm now an emotional wreck! Utterly brilliant, the cast were fantastic! I'm so blown away by Rami Malek as Freddie, plus Brian May too! Definitely Recommend 👌👌👌👌👌👌
346 out of 480 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Breathtakingly beautiful
virgorat-6644125 October 2018
This film is a masterpiece and it pains me to think that people get paid obscene amounts of money to watch films for free and then slate them to appear clever. Bohemian Rhapsody will be a film that goes down in history and so it should; it is a phenomenal cinematic experience
291 out of 404 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What movie did the critics see? Certainly not this one !
stacyhislop27 October 2018
I don't think I've ever been so excited to see a movie, EVER! As I'm sure many of you my age will say, I was brought up listening to Queen by my dad who was a huge fan. One of the only times I ever remember my dad crying was when Freddie died. That love for Queen has been passed on to my little boy, so off we went (a little disheartened, I might add, following the critic reviews) to watch the movie. Ten minutes in, my little boy turned to me and said , 'mum, I love this already' The film has you right from the get go! I honestly don't know what movie those critics saw, but it can't have been the same movie. At times I forgot I wasn't watching the real Queen. I laughed. I cried. I got goosebumps. I cried some more. I absolutely loved every minute of it. The cinema was packed out and as the credits drew, the audience clapped and cheered; something I have never experienced at a movie before. Do not be put off. Just go! If you have kids, take them too!
254 out of 360 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Divided
Gresh8546 November 2018
Bohemian Rhapsody was one of my most anticipated movies of 2018. It'd be quite strenuous to oblige to you'll quite how crucial the band, Queen, means to me and how much they've inveigled myself as the person I am today.

As a youngster, I had been raised upon the newest, hottest, artificially publicized pop and rap tracks that were continuously featured on the most vouged radio stations at the time, but in the corner of every auto-tuned, computerized feature I listened to, I would often get to occasionally tango to a Queen hit.

Freddie Mercury and his band of bohemians are the quadruple-handed culprits who peeked my interest in soulfull, rock and roll music genres which conincidently, have shaped me into the "Classic Rock-Head" I am presently. Not only that, but the obscurities and lunacy of their lyrics-especially from hits like Bohemian Rhapsody-drove me into studying the arts of profoundly galvanized poetry/lyricism/literature.

Their music additionally, has helped me power through numerous of my most emotionally conflicting encounters I had brawled with during my time here on planet Earth. This iconic band has been persisting alongside my life ever since I was born, and that's something I can't declare about towards any other musician/musical group.

Now Here's My Consensus:

I am very, very tied on this film. On one hand, I thought Bohemian Rhapsody tributed the story of Freddie Mercury-for the most part-judiciously, mainly due to Rami Malek's immersive performance. Trust me, if Malek wasn't in this movie, Bohemian Rhapsody would've crumbled to ashes apace with some of the biggest catastrophes of 2018. As a depiction and honory of a musical legend, I was earnestly contented to witness the results.

On the other hand, I found this movie to be a pretty incoherent, potboiler mess of a product. The harshest way to submit this is, well, simply put, to say that Bohemian Rhapsody is fundamentally your average company manufactured, cop-out, strand of merchandise that was only fabricated for mainstream audiences who will unknowingly be able to eat up the same old "Fast and the Furious: Family is Important" blueprint that they've unconsciously seen billions of times.

However, this movie is dang LUCKY that they got Malek on the project and that they AT LEAST managed to make a glaringly enthralling, two-hour, sound-explosion of a music video.

The Main Core Killing This Movie: So, not gonna lie, Bohemian Rhapsody's script is somewhat atrocious in my humble opinion. This penmanship nearly lineaments everything I don't want in a "based-on-a true-story" feature. Whose bright idea was it to make a Marvel movie confided within a Queen movie, an arrangement which wasn't necessarily a construct that one should really consider for a freakin' Queen movie. Writers of the world, you don't have to throw in a satirical one-liner every twenty seconds in order to conquer your audiences attention!

And MY MY. Like, if you didn't think a movie could get more "by-the-books" cliché-especially when diving in with all the family is valuable and family acceptance mortalities-than you sir or madam, were wrong. Screenwriters-I've been sounding so demanding recently, I apologize. I guess I'm just admittedly aggravated today-stop making your dilagoue feel as if it's sprouting out of the pages of a life coaching pamphlet! It's amateurish, honestly.

They just had to bend the story into little bits and pieces because they just had to insert their little chestnut morals and preaches, and their superfluous, forced humor. Why Hollywood? Why? (Probably because of production issues and what not. Oh. And Bryan Singer. Supposedly. And marketing. And money. Definitely money.)

The editing is a bit of a mess too. The sequence of events are muddled like crazy. You'll needa do some final cuts on this DARLING! And about 30% of the movie is just witnessing the band drag on from how they crafted one hit to how their next hit was created and so on so forth.

Did I just rant? Woah, I totally did. Hmm...let's lighten matters up, I suppose. I don't want to give off too many negative vibes about this mediocre biopic feature. There is virtue to be found.

But Rami Malek. This man carries this ENTIRE movie. Without him, Bohemian would like an ATOM BOMB. Or...not, like an Atom Bomb. Cause the song. Okay, I'll shut-up.

Malek's performance is honestly Oscar-nominee worthy. He embodies head to toe, Freddie Mercury's EVERYTHING. Even in the sentimental, dramatic moments, he kills (sorry), DESTROYS it-despite the poor script and dialogue he's often given. Additionally, his chemistry and the story behind his love life was intriguing enough to keep me locked on. The positive outcome of the film originates from this portrayal and this plotpoint that majorily has to do with who Freddie was and what he had to accord with during his times of fame.

I mildly relished Bohemian Rhapsody, and I was enthralled whenever we got to relive Mercury's tale, but...a Queen movie deserves light-years better than this. I'm possibly being a tad-bit generous offering Bohemian Rhapsody with this grade, but, I can't deny that I enjoyed and was cheery that I got to venture this film of messy yet, dapper flair...so: (Verdict: C+)
27 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A biopic or more like bio-epic. And a fantastic one.
za_ne23 October 2018
What a night this was! I went to the world premiere in my local theatre with the purple carpet event on the big screen and all that jazz.

When I saw the first trailer I didn't think much about Rami Malek as Freddie or the whole movie at all since the majority of biopics are generic and pretty much formulaic. Back then, I even considered dropping Sacha Baron Cohen a huge mistake. But boy was I wrong. Malek shined like he's never shone before. I think Susie Figgis outdid herself as a casting director here.

Ever since I joined the casting industry, I really started seeing what it means to work here, how important this part of showbiz that is, and how just a single miscast can ruin a project. Susie Figgis is a veteran casting director, known for many big and widely loved projects and she did well here. She did extremely well. Up until the moment I joined this business, I paid little to no attention to the actor ensemble, with the exception of clear miscasts that just stood out and you couldn't unsee it. But yesterday I just sat there, mesmerized. Gwilym Lee did an outstanding job portraying Brian May, in fact, I forgot he wasn't him. Lucy Boynton was one of my absolute favorites, portraying Mary Austin and her love and devotion towards Freddie. And Rami Malek. Oh, boy, Rami *was* Freddie Mercury. While I was sitting there in the theatre and staring at the screen I didn't have a feeling I was watching actors play their parts. I felt like I was watching Queen.

I don't have much to say about the plot, or the costumes, the setting, the cast. Everything was close to perfection. A perfect balance of drama and comedy. Exactly how life is.

I was five when my dad came to me, kneeled, put his large and on my tiny shoulder and delivered the tragic news about Freddie passing. Queen was basically the soundtrack of my upbringing, so I didn't take the news too well. I wept like I've just lost a dear friend. Dad and I spent the remainder of that afternoon blasting the tracks we oh so loved.

Queen has been the soundtrack of my life, therefore it's impossible to have an unbiased opinion about 'Rhapsody', but I must admit I had my reservations at first. But in the end, I loved it. The last twenty minutes of the film I spend sobbing and wiping the tears and mascara tracks from my cheeks. I can't remember the last time I cried this much in a movie. And I don't know if it was the music, Freddie's tragic fate or the relationships he had, both with lovers and his family, or maybe it was an amalgam of everything, but from the first minutes the movie started building up, it rose block by block until the huge skyscraper that the story was, finally concluded and all the lights turned on and it shined like a marvelous gem.

Until this day, Live Aid remains the biggest, most epic music event in the history of civilization and it is remembered by millions. And _Bohemian Rhapsody_ did it justice. Malek did justice to Freddie. And I left my seat long after the credits had stopped rolling. The show must go on, and it does.
261 out of 373 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Rami Malek as Freddie Mercury is worthy of an Oscar
avinashmeetoo10 November 2018
Just watched Bohemian Rhapsody with my wife, my 16-yo daughter and 14-yo son. It's quite simply one of the best movies we've ever seen. Rami Malek's performance as Freddie Mercury is phenomenal and worthy of an Oscar. The other actors are great too. The music is naturally magnificent. We're talking of Queen after all... We rated Bohemian Rhapsody 10/10.
137 out of 196 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A celebration not an expose
ashwetherall11 November 2018
After listening to the reviews calling Bohemian Rhapsody a bog standard bio I think it's time for me to put my two cents in to the ring.

Personally I must have been watching another movie. Or is that I just understood what the makers of Bohemian Rhapsody were trying to achieve.

Actually let's start with just that.

Bohemian Rhapsody is a tribute to the legacy of Freddie Mercury and also the band Queen. It was primarily made for the fans of the the band and to showcase the band and its history to a new audience.

To do this the film primarily uses a straight forward story telling style. This also means that events and time lines have to be condensed and fictionalised to tell that story in just over 2 hours. This also means that many real characters have to amalgamate in to a couple of fictional personas. I personally had no problem with this. I also liked the fact that the film poked fun at future events using also comic casting. Those who have seen the movie will know what I'm talking about. It seems to me that the critics wanted something that real Queen Fans have no real time for, namely a movie that explores Freddie's wild private life. We know what he did. We know a lot about his wild side. But Queen Fans want a film about the most important elements of Freddie's life. Namely the band and its music.

Bohemian Rhapsody does something better.

Instead of showing a debauched indulgent life, Bohemian Rhapsody instead shows us a man trying to come to terms with his extraordinary life. It shows how with the help of the truly talented other members of Queen he was able to do that. It also shows his Joy, his loneliness, plus some of his mistakes and missteps along the way, and of course his complex relationship with Mary Astor possibly the one person he truly loved.

It tackles his sexuality and some of the aftermath of his partying. It also shows the beginning of his illness. This is all achieved with sensitivity and respect.

Now for the music.

Bohemian Rhapsody is possibly at its greatest when recreating queen on stage. Using a mixture of real singing from the actors, Queen and Freddie's over dubbing and sound alike artists to create a totally unique feel to Queens songs. Recreations of the bands greatest hits are mixed, to sound fresher than ever. Some even help the movie to move along showing headlines and critic's reviews as the songs play out. Then there's The Live Aid performance. Much like the real concert it almost dwarfs everything that has gone before on film. We the audience really get to experience what it was like to be at that event. Not just from the crowd but from the bands point of view. Almost every highlight from that performance is featured.

The performances.

Everyone agrees Rami Malek is a revelation as Freddie after about 20 minutes you totally forget that this is an actor. He is Freddie. This can also be said for Gwilym Lee, Ben Hardy and Joseph Mazzello playing The rest of the band in fact in the case of Lee the transformation into Brian May is astounding. As the film primary focuses on Freddie you can feel a sorry that aspects of the other members of the band aren't fully explored. Rogers womanising is hinted at but Brian's private life and his relationship with his father are not. John Deacon remains the enigma of the band. Lucy Boynton gives a carefully measured and sensitive performance as Mary Astor coming to terms with the changes in Freddie's life. Unfortunately Allen Leech has the unenviable task of playing a composites of some of Freddie's lovers and can be seen as a bit of a cliche villain. But he gives a good account of himself. As for the rest of the cast. Everyone else is solid.

The film begins with Live Ad and ends on that same day.

If you're a fan of Queen I defy you to leave your seat as the credits role.. To Sum up. Bohemian Rhapsody is a celebration, not an expose and it should be treated that way by those pay their money to see it.. The Critics obviously didn't get it.
176 out of 260 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Never heard a cinema audience give a round of applause
me-8135024 October 2018
Ok it's the opening day, the cinema is packed, probably 90% Queen fans. The fans ranged from a young girl of about 10 to old gits like me.

Demi Malek is awesome throughout. He obviously worked so hard to not just look but to sound and act like Freddie. Then again they all did.

There have been some negative "professional" reviewer comments and I did read them and I really couldn't work out what they wanted - perhaps a mix of Philadelphia Story and Mama Mia.

The complex relationship between Freddie and Mary Austin as well as Paul Prenterband finally Jim Hutton was explored and dealt with appropriate sensitivity.

Personally I felt it was short and would have loved to peek more behind the curtain to understand where the music that shaped my adolescence came from.

If you've never seen it go to YouTube and watch the Queen performance at Live Aid. The reaction of the crowd wasn't overplayed it was if anything understated

By the way Bryan Singer is credited as Director but he left and Dexter Fletcher stood in and made a pretty good job

Want to see it again
212 out of 322 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Queen fans will love it, movie fans will love it too.
mrdean7824 October 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Wow. What a brilliantly made film. Brian Singer (The Usual Suspects, X-Men) has walked a sublime tightrope of a wonderful engaging, funny and emotional film without turning it into a turgid Hollywood smarm fest. Rami Malek is of course the star and his performance as Freddie is uncanny. Most of the vocals were Freddies originals but he does attempt some of his own,with commendable success, and you quickly forget it's not actually Mr Mercury himself. Unlike some biopics the music itself does by no means fall by the wayside and there is a multitude of Queen classics crammed into the just over 2 hours running time. And with Roger Taylor and Brian May as the executive music producers for the film expect nothing less. I was pleasantly surprised as to how much of the movie was dedicated to the music and if I wasn't in a cinema I would have spent half the time air guitaring and singing at the top of my voice. Of course we have a lot of the film dedicated to Freddie and his declining social life, behavior and ultimately health, and this is handled with so much respect and emotion that at no point does it seem forced or uncomfortable. The film follows a classic rise, fall and rise again formula culminating in a final fist pumping, rousing half hour which sees the band bust out (what some say is) the greatest live performance of all time as they re-emerge for Wembleys Live-aid concert. Realistically the film won't go down as an all time classic and may not be up for any Oscars (except for Maleks performance maybe) but what we do get is a barnstorming, foot-tapping, heart pumping movie which for me is without a doubt one of the greatest Music biopics ever made. Go see it.
187 out of 286 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Good movie, but
davidc121820 February 2019
Half the movie wasn't true or the time frame was out of sequence.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed